UAHRA members during a meeting with President Karr

Interim President Karr discussing his ideas for UAH with members of the UAH Retirees Association

Welcome to the UAH Retiree Association (UAHRA)

Are you a UAH Retiree? Are you hoping to stay involved with UAH? Are you looking to make your voice heard? Well you're in the right place.

UAHRA was established in 2005 with the following goals and objectives:

  • Support the scholarly and professional objectives of UAH
  • Provide opportunities for UAH retirees to continue their professional relationships with their UAH colleagues through sponsorship and promotion of education programs and social events
  • Communicate with UAH, Alabama State government and groups on issues concerning the needs of and opportunities for retirees

UAHRA has over 100 members and meets quarterly at UAH.


read more about Don
Featured Retiree

Don Bowyer

Professor and Chair of the Music Department Don Bowyer left UAH in 2012 to become Dean of the College of Fine Arts at Arkansas State University.


older photo of wilson hall science building

On the 10th anniversary of the UAH Retiree Association, Lee Cook and Gladys Jones undertook the project of documenting the complete history of the organization.

Read the Complete UAHRA History

Past Presidents

  • Gerald Karr (2018-2020),
  • Kyle Siegrist (2017-2018),
  • Hugh Coleman (2016-2017),
  • Bernard Schroer (2015-2016),
  • Mary Beth Walker (2013-2015),
  • Carol Roach (2012-2013),
  • Joan Williamson (2011-2012),
  • Lee Cook (2010-2011),
  • Steve Bruce (2009-2010),
  • Carol Roach (2008-2009),
  • Dave Brown (2007-2008),
  • Steve Bruce (2006-2007),
  • Lee Cook (2005-2006 - First President)



  • Jack Fix, President
  • Ravi Seth, Vice President
  • Debra Moriarity, Treasurer
  • Juanita Owen, Secretary

Other board members: Royce Boyer, Sharlene Bruce, Steve Bruce, Ramon Cerro

Board of Directors

group photo of uahra board of directors

From left, retired President Darren Dawson, Steve Bruce, Royce Boyer, Debra Moriarity, Jack Fix, Ramon Cerro, Ravi Seth. Absent: Charlie Bruce, Sheila Scruggs.

UAHRA Constitution & By-Laws

Related Links