Dr. Jerome Baudry

Endowed Chan Chair & Professor, Biological Sciences Department


Professor Jerome Baudry is the Mrs. Pei-Ling Chan Professor of Biological Sciences, University of Alabama, Huntsville; Department of Biological Sciences. Dr. Baudry obtained his Ph.D. in Molecular Biophysics with the highest Honors from the University of Paris, UPMC/Sorbonne Universities, France. He subsequently joined the group of Klaus Schulten at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign as a post-doc. After his post-doctoral work, Dr. Baudry worked in the pharmaceutical industry as a Research Scientist, and then accepted a Senior Research Scientist position back in Illinois on a non-tenure track research faculty position. Dr. Baudry joined the University of Tennessee, Knoxville and the UT/ORNL Center for Molecular Biophysics as a tenure track Assistant Professor in 2008. In 2014, he was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure. In August 2017, Dr. Baudry joined UAH as the Mrs. Pei-Ling Chan Professor. At UAH, Dr. Baudry’s group develops and applies methods and protocols for computational drug discovery, both on small-molecules and biologicals, within academic, national laboratories and industrial collaborations.

View Dr. Jerome Baudry's Curriculum Vitae

View Dr. Jerome Baudry's Lab Website


  • Ph.D., Molecular Biophysics, University of Paris UPMC - Sorbonne Universités, Paris, France, Highest Honors (“Très Honorable avec Félicitations”)

Selected Publications

  • (*) Thermophilic Enzyme or Mesophilic Enzyme with Enhanced Thermostability: Can We Draw a Line? X Jing, W Evangelista Falcón, J Baudry, EH Serpersu The Journal of Physical Chemistry B. DOI: 10.1021/acs.jpcb.7b04519. 2017
  • Identification and Structure-Activity Relationships of Novel Compounds that Potentiate the Activities of Antibiotics in Escherichia coli KM Haynes, N Abdali, V Jhawar, HI Zgurskaya, JM Parks, AT Green, Jerome Baudry, Valentin V Rybenkov, Jeremy C Smith, John K Walker Journal of Medicinal Chemistry. DOI: 10.1021/acs.jmedchem.7b00453. 2017
  • Structure-based design of broadly protective group a streptococcal M protein-based vaccines JB Dale, PR Smeesters, HS Courtney, TA Penfound, CM Hohn, JC Smith, J. Baudry Vaccine 35 (1), 19-26. 2017
  • Novel small molecule JP-153 targets the Src-FAK-paxillin signaling complex to inhibit VEGF-induced retinal angiogenesis Jordan J. Toutounchian, Jayaprakash Pagadala, Duane D. Miller, Jerome Baudry, Frank Park, Edward Chaum and Charles R. Yates Molecular Pharmacology January 1, 2017, 91 (1) 1-13;
  • Structure-based design of broadly protective group a streptococcal M protein-based vaccines James B. Dale, Pierre R. Smeesters, Harry S. Courtney, Thomas A. Penfound, Claudia M. Hohn, Jeremy C. Smith, Jerome Y. Baudry Vaccine, Volume 35, Issue 1, 2017, Pages 19-26, ISSN 0264-410X,.
  • A computationally identified compound antagonizes excess FGF-23 signaling in renal tubules and a mouse model of hypophosphatemia By Zhousheng Xiao, Demian Riccardi, Hector A. Velazquez, Ai L. Chin, Charles R. Yates, Jesse D. Carrick, Jeremy C. Smith, Jerome Baudry, L. Darryl Quarles. Sci. Signal.22 Nov 2016 : ra113