Alabama Space Grant Consortium funds UAH students

NASA funds totaling $42,000 have been provided by the Alabama Space Grant Consortium (ASGC) to students at The University of Alabama in Huntsville (UAH) for the 2013-2014 academic year to fund one graduate fellowship, four undergraduate scholars and one teacher educator scholar.

"These awards are the heart of the Alabama Space Grant Consortium. Alabama has one of the largest Space Grant Scholars and Fellowship program in the country," said Dr. Gerald R. Karr, UAH ASGC director and a principal research scientist at the Earth System Science Center. "The awards are based on a competitive review process and these students are ranked highest among those that have competed. We are proud to present the 2013-2014 ASGC awards."

The Undergraduate Scholars and their projected graduation dates are John Benton Alcorn, Aerospace Engineering, May 2014; Markus Ray Murdy, Aerospace Engineering, May 2015; Lindsay Megan Shine, Industrial & Systems Engineering, May 2014; and Kacey Marie Tyra, Mechanical Engineering, May 2015.

Alabama Space Grant Consortium

The Teacher Education Scholar is Charity Haggenmaker, Chemistry & Science Education, May 2014. The Graduate Fellow is Matthew Arnold Hitt for his research thesis "Liquid Rocket Printed Injector Study." Hitt is a doctoral student in Mechanical Engineering graduating in May 2015. His advisor is Dr. Robert Frederick.

UAH will match the ASGC funding. ASGC offers graduate fellowships and undergraduate scholarships to Alabama students majoring in science, technology, engineering or math (STEM) fields and interested in a career with NASA or in a space-related field.

Dr. Gerald R. Karr


Jim Steele