Von Braun Symposium begins Oct. 26

2019 Von Braun Symposium

Audiences like this one at the 2019 Von Braun Symposium will be replaced with a virtual event this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Courtesy American Astronautical Society
Registration is open for the 13th annual Wernher von Braun Symposium, conducted by the American Astronautical Society (AAS), which will be held online Oct. 26-28.

On Oct. 26 at 11 a.m., Dr. Darren Dawson, president of The University of Alabama in Huntsville (UAH), a part of the University of Alabama System, will join Carol Lane, AAS president, and Jody Singer, director of NASA Marshall Space Flight Center (MSFC), to welcome online attendees.

Keynote speeches during the event will be given by Kathryn Lueders, associate administrator, Human Exploration and Operations Mission Directorate, NASA Headquarters; and Jim Bridenstine, administrator, NASA Headquarters.

The symposium will feature panel discussions on “Artemis: How This Twin Will Go Together,” “Human Landing System,” “Artemis Sustainable Lunar Exploration,” “International Collaboration for Moon 2024,” “Enabling Technologies for Moon to Mars Space Exploration,” “Achieving Space Velocity from Red Tape: Regulatory and Policy Reform,” “Workforce,” “Space Policy Dialogue” and “Future Space Outlook Conversation.”

Interspersed throughout will be VB Extras with speakers including:

  • Kara Cuzeman, lead futurist for strategic foresight for the Center for Space Policy and Strategy, Aerospace Corp.
  • Chris Stott, chairman and chief executive officer, ManSat.
  • Renee Weber, planetary scientist, NASA MSFC.
  • Thomas Zurbuchen, associate administrator, Space and Missile Defense, NASA Headquarters.
  • Carissa Christensen, chief executive officer and founder, Bryce Space and Technology.
  • Alex McDonald, chief economist, Office of Administrator, NASA Headquarters.

Awards presentations include the Space Technology Award, the Carl Sagan Memorial Award, the Neil Armstrong Space Flight Achievement Award, the Sally Ride Education Award and the Ordway Award. Winners of a student poster contest will also be announced.