Dr. Jason Cassibry

Associate Professor, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Department


Dr. Jason Cassibry obtained a B.S. in aerospace engineering from the University of Missouri in Rolla in 1997, his M.S. in aerospace engineering from the University of Illinois in Champaign-Urbana in 1999, and his Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from The University of Alabama in Huntsville (UAH) while performing research at NASA MSFC in 2004. His research involved numerical modeling of magnetized target fusion for propulsion. From 2003-2004, he served as a research engineer in the Propulsion Research Center (PRC) at UAH and after receiving his Ph.D. became an assistant research professor.

Dr. Cassibry is an associate professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and affiliated with the Propulsion Research Center at The University of Alabama in Huntsville. His research includes the theoretical and experimental study of magneto-inertial fusion for applications to advanced propulsion for interplanetary space travel and terrestrial power. Specific research areas include 3D modeling of these plasmas using smooth particle hydrodynamics, modeling of the coupling between plasma accelerators and external circuits, and pulsed z-pinch fusion.

Dr. Cassibry has 12 years past the PhD in numerical modeling of magneto-inertial fusion and electric propulsion. He is the PI of the Charger Facility, a 3 Terawatt pulsed power laboratory to be utilized for z-pinch fusion of lithium deuteride, pulsed magnetic nozzles, and laboratory astrophysics. He has developed and taught graduate level courses in fusion propulsion, electric propulsion, numerical methods in magnetohydrodynamics, smoothed particle hydrodynamics, and aerothermodynamics.

Dr. Jason Cassibry's Curriculum Vitae


  • Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering, The University of Alabama in Huntsville, 2004
  • M.S., Mechanical Engineering, University of Illinois in Urbana/Champaign, 1999
  • B.S., Mechanical Engineering, University of Missouri in Rolla, 1997

Honors & Awards

  • AIAA Best Paper by the AIAA Nuclear and Future Flight Propulsion Technical Committee (2nd author), AIAA 2014-3520 “Developing the Pulsed Fission-Fusion (PuFF) Engine” (awarded April 2014)
  • SciQuest 2013 Quest for Excellence Award in the area of Academia, August 2013.
  • Konrad Dannenberg Educator of the Year Award, May 2013, in recognition by the Greater Huntsville Section of AIAA of outstanding service to education and promotion of math and science within the community.
  • UAH Distinguished Research Award, May 2010, in recognition of outstanding contributions in research. Award is competed among all faculty.
  • Outstanding Junior Professor for College of Engineering, February 2010, in recognition of outstanding contributions in both research and teaching as an assistant professor.


  • Cassibry, J. T., Cortez, R. J., Hsu, S. C., and Witherspoon, F. D., “Estimates of confinement time and energy gain for plasma liner driven magneto-inertial fusion using an analytic self-similar converging shock model,” Physics of Plasmas, 16, 112707 (2009).
  • Richardson, G. A., Cassibry, J. T., Chung, T. J. and Wu, S. T., “Finite Element Form of FDV for Widely Varying Flowfields,” Journal of Computational Physics, 229 (2010) 145-167.
  • A. G. Lynn, E. Merritt, M. Gilmore, S. C. Hsu, F. D. Witherspoon, and J. T. Cassibry, “Diagnostics for the Plasma Liner Experiment,” Review of Scientific Instruments 81, 10E115 2010.
  • Awe, T. J., Adams, C. S., Davis, J.S., Hanna, D. S., Hsu, S. C., Cassibry, J. T., “One-dimensional radiation-hydrodynamic scaling studies of imploding spherical plasma liners,” Physics of Plasmas 18, 072705, (2011). .
  • J. T. Cassibry,M. Stanic, S. C. Hsu, F. D. Witherspoon, S.I. Abarzhi, “Tendency of spherically imploding plasma liners formed by merging plasma jets to evolve toward spherical symmetry,” Physics of Plasmas, 19, 052702, 2012.
  • Hsu, S. C., T. J. Awe, S. Brockington, A. Case, J. T. Cassibry, G. Kagan, S. J. Messer, et al., “Spherically Imploding Plasma Liners as a Standoff Driver for Magnetoinertial Fusion.” Plasma Science, IEEE Transactions On PP (99): 1 –12. doi:10.1109/TPS.2012.2186829.
  • Miernik, J., G. Statham, L. Fabisinski, C.D. Maples, R. Adams, T. Polsgrove, S. Fincher, J. Cassibry, R. Cortez, M. Turner, T. Percy, “Z-Pinch Fusion-based Nuclear Propulsion.” Acta Astronautica, 82, 173 (2013).
  • M. Stanic, R.F. Stellingwerf, J.T. Cassibry, S.I. Abarzhi, “Scale coupling in Richtmyer-Meshkov flows induced by strong shocks,” Physics of Plasmas, 19, 082706, 2012.
  • J. S. Davis, S. C. Hsu, I. E. Golovkin, J. J. MacFarlane, and J. T. Cassibry, “One-dimensional radiation-hydrodynamic simulations of imploding spherical plasma liners with detailed equation-of-state modeling,” Physics of Plasmas, 19, 102701, 2012.
  • Hsu, S. C., E. C. Merritt, A. L. Moser, T. J. Awe, S. J. E. Brockington, J. S. Davis, C. S. Adams, A. Case, J. T. Cassibry, J. P. Dunn, M. A. Gilmore, A. G. Lynn, S. J. Messer, F. D. Witherspoon, “Experimental Characterization of Railgun-driven Supersonic Plasma Jets Motivated by High Energy Density Physics Applications.” Physics of Plasmas, 19, 123514, 2012.
  • J.T. Cassibry, M. Stanic, and S.C. Hsu, “Ideal hydrodynamic scaling relations for a stagnated imploding spherical plasma liner formed by an array of merging plasma jets,” Physics of Plasmas 20, 032706 (2013).
  • Stanic, M., J. McFarland, R. F. Stellingwerf, J. T. Cassibry, D. Ranjan, R. Bonazza, J. A. Greenough, and S. I. Abarzhi, “Non-Uniform Volumetric Structures in Richtmyer-Meshkov Flows.” Physics of Fluids 25, (10): 106107 (2013).
  • J. Cassibry, R. Cortez, M. Stanic, W. Seidler, R. Adams, G. Statham, and L. Fabisinski, “The Case and Development Path for Fusion Propulsion,” Journal of Spacecraft and Rockets 52 (2), pp. 595–612 (2015).
  • G. A. Wurden, T. E. Weber, P. J. Turchi, P. B. Parks, T. E. Evans, S. A. Cohen, J. T. Cassibry, E. M. Campbell, “A New Vision for Fusion Energy Research: Fusion Rocket Engines for Planetary Defense,” Journal of Fusion Energy, pp. 1-11, 10.1007/s10894-015-0034-1 (Nov. 16, 2015)