Top row from left: Zach Taylor, Joseph Clerkin, Derek Millard, and Jeffrey Dyas. Bottom from left: Lloyd Walker, Kathy Burris, Hannah Smith, Giulia Palma, Betsy Patterson, and Andrew Gilbert. Not pictured: Maliha Lubna.

For the third consecutive year, an ISEEMer has won the graduate engineering category of the Von Braun Memorial Symposium poster competition. The 8th Wernher von Braun Memorial Symposium is being held on campus this week. For the last several years, UAH students have attended the symposium and participated in the student poster competition. Eleven of this year's 40 entrants were ISEEMers. (See photos on UAH ISEEM Facebook page.) ISEEM swept the graduate engineering category, with Lloyd Walker, GRA for Dr. L. Dale Thomas, won first place with "Model Based Systems Engineering for CubeSats," and Andrew Gilbert, GRA for Dr. Bryan Mesmer, took second place with "Multidisciplinary Design Optimization of Launch Vehicles Using Exergy as an Objective."

The symposium is a wonderful opportunity to showcase student research and its contributions to aerospace science and related fields. This year's symposium is an important one, and highlights the university's unique position in the space industry. The proceedings are attended by top aerospace professionals, representing government, academia, and the private sector, and the proceedings feature several notable speakers and panelists. Our own professor and eminent scholar Dr. Thomas moderated a panel entitled "After the Election - What’s Next for Space?" that included Dr. Scott Pace of George Washington University and Ann Zulkowski of Lockheed Martin.