faculty performance illustration

The University of Alabama in Huntsville (UAH), a part of The University of Alabama System, has recognized 25 faculty members for their outstanding performance and overall excellence by awarding them tenure and/or promotion starting with the 2023-2024 academic year.

These faculty members include nine who were awarded tenure and promotion to associate professor, five promotions to professor, two promotions to clinical assistant professor, three promotions to clinical associate professor, two promotions to senior lecturer, two promotions to librarian III and two promotions to librarian II.

“It is my pleasure to announce this spring’s tenure and promotion decisions, which will take effect with the start of the upcoming academic year,” said Dr. David Puleo, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs.

“These decisions resulted from extensive reviews by faculty colleagues at the department, college, and university levels and, in appropriate cases, references by distinguished colleagues from other academic institutions. Final decisions took into account those reviews and recommendations of the chairs and deans. President Karr concurred with the decisions.”

The faculty members recognized include:

Award of Tenure and Promotion to Associate Professor

  • Joshua Burel, Music
  • Matthew Carey, Music
  • Amy Guerin, Theatre
  • Leiqiu Hu, Atmospheric & Earth Science
  • Vineetha Menon, Computer Science
  • Tathagata Mukherjee, Computer Science
  • Jennifer Sims, Sociology
  • Nathan Tenhundfeld, Psychology
  • Shuang Zhao, Political Science

Promotion to Professor

  • Ann Bianchi, Nursing
  • Qiang Hu, Space Science
  • Udaysankar Nair, Atmospheric & Earth Science
  • George Nelson, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
  • Sarma Rani, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Promotion to Clinical Assistant Professor

  • Jennifer Palmer, Nursing
  • Charles Reynolds, Nursing

Promotion to Clinical Associate Professor

  • Rebecca Davis, Nursing
  • Donna Guerra, Nursing
  • Amelia Lanz, Nursing

Promotion to Senior Lecturer

  • Denise Kendall Niemiller, Biological Sciences
  • Lawana Adcock, Biological Sciences

Promotion to Librarian III

  • Drew Adan, Salmon Library
  • Michael Manasco, Salmon Library

Promotion to Librarian II

  • Rebecca Brothers, Salmon Library
  • Charlie Gibbons, Salmon Library

“These newly promoted and tenured faculty have achieved high levels of excellence in the areas of research, teaching and service,” Puleo said. “They are a tribute to the faculty who recruited them, mentored them and encouraged them along the way. Please join me in congratulating them on the achievement of this milestone. We look forward to their continued success at UAH.”