UAH

Faculty & Staff

My best experience as a science student at UAH has been interacting with the faculty of the College of Science. I have always found it fun to have discussions with my instructors, related to their field or a shared interest, before and after class. – Joshua, Computer Science Major

 

MAX Truck

 

Dean's Office

C207 Materials Science Building
John Wright Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899
256.824.6606

Sundar Christopher, PhD
Dean
College of Science
MSB C207C
256.824.6605
cosdean@uah.edu
Daniel M Rochowiak, PhD
Associate Dean
Computer Science
MSB C206
256.824.6844
Daniel.Rochowiak@uah.edu
Deborah Alley
Executive Secretary II
College of Science
MSB 207B
256.824.6606
deborah.alley@uah.edu
Jennifer Bradley
Academic Advisor
College of Science
MSB 206A
256.824.2505
jennifer.bradley@uah.edu
Laurie Collins
Coordinator, Contracts and Grants
College of Science
MSB 207E
256.824.3080
Laurie.Collins@uah.edu
Crystal Lee
Resource Manager
College of Science
MSB 207D
256.824.2393
Crystal.Lee@uah.edu
Morgan Lewis
Sr Academic Advisor
College of Science
MSB 206B
256.824.2505
Morgan.Lewis@uah.edu
Carey Snowden
Outreach Coordinator
College of Science
MSB 207G
256.824.4645
Carey.Snowden@uah.edu
 

Biology

Shelby Center for Science and Technology, Room 369A
301 Sparkman Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899
256.824.6260

Debra M Moriarty, PhD
Department Chair
Biochemistry
SC 369Q<
256.824.6045
moriard@uah.edu
Lynn Boyd, PhD
Associate Professor
Genetics of Development
SC 369J
256.824.6166
boydl@uah.edu
Luis Rogelio Cruz-Vera, PhD
Assistant Professor
Molecular Biology
SC 369L
256.824.2477
shriverj@uah.edu
Leland J Cseke, PhD
Assistant Professor
Plant Molecular Biology
SC 302J
256.824.6774
csekel@uah.edu
Ana Kitazono, PhD
Cell Molecular Biology
SC 369M
256.824.6371
aak0004@uah.edu
Robert O Lawton, PhD
Professor
Ecology
SC 302M
256.824.6388
lawtonr@uah.edu
Joseph G Leahy, PhD
Associate Professor
Microbiology
SC 369M
256.824.6371
leahyJ@uah.edu
Gordon MacGregor
Assistant Professor
Physiology
SC 369H
256.824.4925
gm0009@uah.edu
 
Roy D Magnuson, PhD
Associate Professor
Molecular Microbiology
SC 369K
256.824.6094
magnusr@uah.edu
Luciano M Matzkin, PhD
Asssistant Professor
Ecological & Evolutionary Genomics
SC 302E
256.824.4326
magnusr@uah.edu
Josheph D Ng, PhD
Associate Professor
Biochemistry
MSB 221C
256.824.3715
ngj@uah.edu
John W Shriver, PhD
Professor
Biomolecular Structure
MSB 311
256.824.2477
shriverj@uah.edu
Bruce W Stallsmith, PhD
Assistant Professor
Ichthyology
SC 369
256.824.6992
stallsb@uah.edu
 

Chemistry

Materials Science Building C203
John Wright Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899
256.824.6153

William Setzer, PhD
Department Chair
Organic Chemistry, Natural Products
MSB 203C
256.824.6519
wsetzer@chemistry.uah.edu
Anastasia Byler
Staff
Staff Assistant
MSB 203
256.824.6153
anastasia.byler@uah.edu
James Baird, PhD
Faculty
Physical Chemistry
MSB 115
256.824.6441
bairdj@uah.edu
Michael George, PhD
Faculty
Physical & Surface Chemistry
MSB 103
256.824.6916
mgeorge@matsci.uah.edu
John C Gregory, PhD
Faculty
Physical Chemistry
MSB 111
256.824.6028
gregoryj@uah.edu
William Kaukler, PhD
Faculty
Materials Science
MVBRH E41
256.824.6967
kauklerw@uah.edu
Robert McFeeters, PhD
Faculty
Biochemistry, Biophysics, & Structural Biology
MSB 215
256.824.6023
robert.mcfeeters@uah.edu
Edward Meehan, PhD
Faculty
Biochemistry & Biophysics
MSB 235
256.824.6533
meehane@uah.edu
Carmen Scholz, PhD
Faculty
Organic Chemistry & Polymers
MSB 333
256.824.6188
scholzc@uah.edu
John Shriver, PhD
Faculty
Biophysical Chemistry & Biochemistry
MSB 311
256.824.2477
john.shriver@uah.edu
Pam Twigg, PhD
Faculty
Biochemistry & Structural Biology
MSB 225
256.824.6935
twiggp@uah.edu
Bernhard Vogler, PhD
Faculty
Analytical & Organic Chemistry, Natural Products
MSB 321
256.824.6267
bvogler@chemistry.uah.edu
Emanuel Waddell, PhD
Faculty
Analytical & Structural Chemistry
MSB 139
256.824.2695
ewaddell@chemistry.uah.edu
Jeffrey J Weimar, PhD
Faculty
Physical & Surface Chemistry
MSB 125 & EB 119
256.824.6954
jjweimer@matsci.uah.edu
 

Computer Science

300 Technology Hall
University of Alabama at Huntsville
Huntsville, AL 35899
256.824.6088

Heggere S Ranganath, PhD
Department Chair
Pattern Recognition, Image Processing
TH N300B
256.824.6088
info@cs.uah.edu
Ramazan Aygun, PhD
Associate Professor
Multimedia Systems, Database Systems
TH N360
256.824.6455
raygun@cs.uah.edu
Dr. Rick Coleman
Lecturer
Basic programming skills in C++ and Java, Advanced programming skills in C++, Object oriented programming
TH N354
256.824.5160
rcoleman@cs.uah.edu
Harry S Delugach, PhD
Associate Professor
Software Engineering, Software Requirements
TH N351
256.824.6614
delugach@cs.uah.edu
Letha Etzkorn, PhD
Professor
Software Engineering, Mobile and Intelligent Agents
TH N348
256.824.6291
letzkorn@cs.uah.edu
Sara J Graves, PhD
Professor, Director ITSC
Data Mining, Distributed Information Systems
TH S339A
256.824.6064
sgraves@cs.uah.edu
Sun-il Kim, PhD
Assistant Professor
Reliability and Security in Networked Systems
TH N347
256.824.6221
sunilkim@cs.uah.edu
Wei Li, PhD
Associate Professor
Software Engineering, Software Metrics
TH N352
256.824.6189
wli@cs.uah.edu
Tim Newman, PhD
Professor
Automated Visual Inspection, Biomedical Imaging
TH N364
256.824.6619
tnewman@cs.uah.edu
Mikel Petty, PhD
Associate Professor; Director, CMSA
Modeling and Simulation, Computational Complexity
SC 144
256.824.4368
mpetty@cs.uah.edu
Dan M Rochowiak, PhD
Associate Professor; Associate Dean, College of Science
Artificial Intelligence, Cognitive Science
TH N340
256.824.6234
drochowi@cs.uah.edu
Peter Slater, PhD
Professor
Graph Theory, Graph and Network Algorithms
TH N349
256.824.6968
pslater@cs.uah.edu
Mary E Weisskopf, PhD
Assistant Professor; Associate Chair, Undergraduate Curriculum Coordinator
Operating Systems, Distributed Systems
TH N300A
256.824.6306
weisskop@cs.uah.edu
Huaming Zhang, PhD
Associate Professor
Algorithm Design, Graph
TH N300I
256.824.5084
hzhang@cs.uah.edu
Feng Zhu, PhD
Assistant Professor
Networks and Security
TH N346
256.824.6255
fzhu@cs.uah.edu

Earth System Science/Atmospheric Science

National Space Science and Technology Center
320 Sparkman Drive
Huntsville, Alabama 35805
256.961.7754

Sundar A Christopher, PhD
Department Chair
Atmospheric Science
NSSTC
256.961.7872
sundar@nsstc.uah.edu
Phillip Bitzer, PhD
Assistant Professor
Lightning
256.961.7948
pm.bitzer@uah.edu
Larry Carey, PhD
Associate Professor
Radar remote sensing, severe weather
256.961.7909
larry.carey@nsstc.uah.edu
John R Christy, PhD
Distinguished Professor; Director of ESSC
Climate, Climate Dynamics
256.961.7763
christy@nsstc.uah.edu
Qingyuan Han, PhD
Associate Professor
Satellite cloud imagery, remote sensing
256.961.7785
han@nsstc.uah.edu
Kevin Knupp, PhD
Professor
Ground-based remote sensing
256.961.7762
kevin.knupp@nsstc.uah.edu
John R Mecikalski, PhD
Associate Professor
Satellite Data Assimilation, Mesoscale Modeling
256.961.7046
johnm@nsstc.uah.edu
Udaysankar Nair, PhD
Assistant Professor
Land, atmosphere and ecosystem processes
nair@nsstc.uah.edu
Michael Newchurch, PhD
Professor
Atmospheric Chemistry, Satellite Remote Sensing
256.967.7825
mike@nsstc.uah.edu
Donald J Perkey, PhD
Professor Emeritus
Mesoscale Modeling, Global Change
perkey@nsstc.uah.edu
Tom Sever, PhD
Professor
Remote Sensing, GIS Techonology
256.961.7958
Tom.Sever@nasa.gov
William W Vaughan, PhD
Research Professor
Satellite Meteorology, Reference and Standard Atmospheres
256.961.7759
vaughan@nsstc.uah.edu

Mathematical Sciences

Shelby Center for Science and Technology, Rm 258A
301 Sparkman Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899
256.824.6470

Jia Li, PhD
Department Chair
SC 258B
256.824.6470
li@math.uah.ed
Elizabeth Bowman
Lecturer
SC 258P
256.824.2230
bowman@math.uah.edu
Peter Gibson, PhD
Professor Emeritus
SC 201L
256.824.2223
gibson@math.uah.edu
Kenneth Howell, PhD
Associate Professor Emeritus
SC 201B
256.824.6410
howell@math.uah.edu
Wenzhang Huang, PhD
Professor
SC 258H
256.824.2224
huang@math.uah.edu
Terri Johnson
Lecturer
SC 201Q
256.824.2225
johnsotw@uah.edu
Boris Kunin, PhD
Associate Professor
SC 258L
256.824.6847
kunin@math.uah.edu
Shelley Lenahan
Lecturer, Director of Math Learning Center
SC 201F
256.824.6524
lenahas@email.uah.edu
 
Claudio Morales, PhD
Professor
SC 258J
256.824.2227
morales@math.uah.edu
Mark Pekker, PhD
Professor
SC 201N
256.824.9879
mark.pekker@uah.edu
Lanita Presson
Lecturer
SC 258G
256.824.6270
presson@math.uah.edu
SS Ravindran, PhD
Professor
SC 201C
256.824.6611
ravindra@math.uah.edu
Kyle Seigrist, PhD
Professor Emeritus
SC 258K
256.824.6486
siegrist@math.uah.edu
Peter Slater, PhD
Professor
SC 201K
256.824.6609
slater@math.uah.edu
Dongsheng Wu, PhD
Assistant Professor
SC 201J
256.824.6676
dongsheng.wu@uah.edu
Grant Zhang, PhD
Associate Professor
SC 201E
256.824.2228
zhang@math.uah.edu
 

Physics

Optics Building
Room 201 B
Huntsville, AL 35899
256.824.2483

Richard Lieu, PhD
Chair
Astrophysics
OB 218
256.824.2859
Richard.Lieu@uah.edu
Max Bonamente, PhD
Associate Professor
Astrophysics
OB 212
256.824.3245
Max.Bonamente@uah.edu
Lingze Duan, PhD
Assistant Professor
Optics
OB 201
256.824.2138
Lingze.Duan@uah.edu
Abdalla Elsamadicy, PhD
Lecturer
Solid State
OB 201B
256.824.6080
Abdalla.Elsamadicy@uah.edu
Jack Fix, PhD
Professor and Dean
Astronomy
C207C
256.824.6605
fixj@uah.edu
Don Gregory, PhD
Professor
Optics
OB 226
256.824.2840
Don.Gregory@uah.edu
James Miller, PhD
Professor
Solar Physics
OB 300F
256.824.2846
James.Miller@uah.edu
Richard Miller, PhD
Associate Professor
Experimental Astrophysics
OB 300H
256.824.2454
Richard.S.Miller@uah.edu
Ken-Ichi Nishikawa, PhD
Associate Research Professor
Astrophysics
OB 300E
256.824.2593
ken-ichi.nishikawa-1@nasa.gov
Dan O'Halloran
AMSTI Physics in Motion Coordinator
OB 201B
256.824.2991
Dan.OHalloran@uah.edu
Sayed Sadeghi, PhD
Assistant Professor
Optics
OB 201
256.824.2482
Seyed.Sadeghi@uah.edu
Ming Sun, PhD
Assistant Professor
Astronomy
OB 214
256.824.2126
ms0071@uah.edu
Carol Strong, PhD
Lecturer
Optics
OB 238
256.824.2832
carol.strong@uah.edu
Dora Wynn
Staff Assistant
Department of Physics
OB 201B
256.824.2483
Dora.Wynn@uah.edu
 

Space Science

Gary Zank, PhD
Chair
Space Physcis
OB 201C
256.824.2482
zank@ucr.edu
Vladamir Florinski, PhD
Assistant Professor
Space Physics
OB 332
256.824.4176
Vladimir.Florinski@uah.edu
Jacob Heerikhuisen, PhD
Assistant Professor
Space Physics
OB 334
256.824.4661
Jacob.Heerikhuisen@uah.edu
Qiang Hu, PhD
Assistant Professor
Space Physics
CH2041
256.961.7920
qh0001@uah.edu
Jakobus le Roux, PhD
Associate Professor
Space Physics
OB 335
256.824.4524
Jakobus.LeRoux@uah.edu
Gang Li, PhD
Assistant Professor
Space Physics
OB 333
256.824.4830
Gang.Li@uah.edu
Nick Pogorelov, PhD
Professor
Space Physics
CH 2006
256.961.7617
np0002@uah.edu
Rob Preece, PhD
Associate Research Professor
Astrophysics
OB 201C
256.824.2482
Robert.Preece@uah.edu