2022 university awards displayed on a table
Michael Mercier | UAH

On April 21, The University of Alabama in Huntsville (UAH), a part of The University of Alabama System, hosted the annual University Awards for Excellence ceremony to recognize the achievements of the university’s faculty, staff members and researchers. Award recipients were applauded for their outstanding abilities, dedication and innovation in being selected for these honors.

UAH Interim President, Dr. Charles L. Karr, congratulated the honorees, while the awards were presented by Interim Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr. Robert Lindquist.

“We are excited and honored to recognize these faculty and staff members for their outstanding contributions to The University of Alabama in Huntsville,” says Dr. Lindquist. “The University Awards for Excellence is a chance for us to highlight our exceptional staff and faculty for what they have accomplished to support our institution. It is a privilege to recognize their significant achievements and to thank them for the pride they take in making UAH such a special place to work and teach.”

Research Patent Awards were also presented. The ceremony was conducted live in person for the first time since 2019.

Congratulations to all of the honorees, and for their dedication and service, as well as their enduring commitment to our students.

2022 Facilities Excellence Award

Candi DeBardelaben, Manager, Facilities and Operations Administrative Services

2022 Staff Excellence Award (Exempt)

Wendy Worlund, Manager, Client Services, Office of Information Technology

2022 Staff Excellence Award (Non-exempt)

Pamela Redding, Client Services, Senior Staff Assistant, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

2022 Staff Leadership Excellence Award

Teresa Shurtz, Research Budget Director, Office of Research and Economic Development

2022 Graduate Advisor Award

Janiece Smith, Program Manager, Graduate Admissions & Advising, College of Nursing

2022 Graduate Mentor Award

Dr. Matthew Niemiller, Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences, College of Science

2022 Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity Mentor Award

Dr. Nathan Tenhundfeld, Assistant Professor of Psychology, College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

2022 College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences Outstanding Faculty Member

Dr. Andrei Gandila, Associate Professor of History, College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

2022 College of Business Outstanding Faculty Member

Dr. Qingyun (Serena) Zhu, Assistant Professor of Management Science, College of Business

2022 College of Education Outstanding Faculty Member

Dr. Kimberly Hile, Assistant Professor of Curriculum & Instruction, College of Education

2022 College of Engineering Outstanding Faculty Member

Dr. Biswajit Ray, Assistant Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering, College of Engineering

2022 College of Nursing Outstanding Faculty Member

Tammy Clemmons, Clinical Instructor, College of Nursing

2022 College of Science Outstanding Faculty Member

Dr. Lingze Duan, Professor of Physics & Astronomy, College of Science

2022 University Distinguished Teaching Award

Dr. K. Denise Kendall Niemiller, Lecturer of Biological Sciences, College of Science

2022 University Distinguished Research and Creative Achievement and Scholarly Performance Award

Kathleen Baldwin, Associate Professor of Art, Art History, & Design, College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

Photo Gallery

The university hosted its annual faculty and staff awards ceremony on Thursday, April 21, in the Student Services Building on the UAH campus.

Michael Mercier | UAH