The department of Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies (WGS) is composed of administrators, a Program Advisory Committee (PAC) and Teaching Faculty.

WGS Administrators oversee planning, programming, and day-to-day operations.

The WGS Program Advisory Committee (PAC) is made up of faculty and staff who consult on curricular matters, choose scholarship and award winners, and advise on vision and programming.

The WGS Teaching Faculty includes numerous faculty members (from several colleges at UAH) who teach classes designated as Women’s, Gender, & Sexuality Studies courses.

Administrators

Cindi Brasher

Cindi Brasher

Staff Assistant

MOR 278K
256.824.6321
cynthia.brasher@uah.edu

Dr. Chad Thomas

Dr. Chad Thomas

Associate Professor, Director of Women's and Gender Studies

MOR 278M
256.824.6323
chad.thomas@uah.edu

Program Advisory Committee

Dr. Christina Steidl

Dr. Christina Steidl

Associate Dean Interim Department Chair Associate Professor

MOR 116D
256.824.2299
christina.steidl@uah.edu

Ms. Katie Baldwin

Ms. Katie Baldwin

Associate Professor of Art - Printmaking

WIL 349
256.824.2591
kab0034@uah.edu

Dr. Angela Balla

Dr. Angela Balla

Associate Professor

MOR 264
angela.balla@uah.edu

Ann Bianchi

Ann Bianchi

Ph.D., RN

Associate Professor Nursing Honors College Coordinator

NUR 422
256.824.2465
ann.bianchi@uah.edu

Dr. John Harfouch

Dr. John Harfouch

Associate Professor, Pre-Law Advisor

MOR 222
256.824.2337
john.nale@uah.edu

Dr. Molly Johnson

Dr. Molly Johnson

Associate Professor Modern Europe & Russia

MOR 216
256.824.2566
molly.johnson@uah.edu

Dr. Rose Norman

Dr. Rose Norman

Past Director, Emeritus Professor
Dr. Jennifer Sims

Dr. Jennifer Sims

Assistant Professor

MOR 247
256.824.2301
jennifer.sims@uah.edu

Dr. Chad Thomas

Dr. Chad Thomas

Associate Professor, Director of Women's and Gender Studies

MOR 278M
256.824.6323
chad.thomas@uah.edu

Teaching Faculty

Dr. Christina Steidl

Dr. Christina Steidl

Associate Dean Interim Department Chair Associate Professor

MOR 116D
256.824.2299
christina.steidl@uah.edu

Dr. Alanna Frost

Dr. Alanna Frost

Department Chair of English

MOR 278H
256.824.2373
alanna.frost@uah.edu

Dr. Eletra Gilchrist-Petty

Dr. Eletra Gilchrist-Petty

Department Chair of Communication Arts Professor

MOR 278F
256.824.2304
Eletra.Gilchrist@uah.edu

Dr. Nicholaos Jones

Dr. Nicholaos Jones

Department Chair of Philosophy & Political Science Professor Humanities Center Director

MOR 206D
256.824.2338
nick.jones@uah.edu

Dr. Leslie Maxwell Kaiura

Dr. Leslie Maxwell Kaiura

Department Chair of World Languages and Culture Associate Professor - Spanish

MOR 278G
256.824.6426
leslie.kaiura@uah.edu

Dr. Christine Sears

Dr. Christine Sears

Department Chair of History Associate Professor Early American Republic

MOR 206G
256.824.2573
christine.sears@uah.edu

Dr. Anne Marie Choup

Dr. Anne Marie Choup

Associate Professor

MOR 200
256.824.2312
annemarie.choup@uah.edu

Dr. Joe Conway

Dr. Joe Conway

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR & DIRECTOR OF GRADUATE STUDIES

MOR 265
joseph.conway@uah.edu

Ms. Amy Guerin

Ms. Amy Guerin

Assistant Professor

MOR 224
256.824.2360
amy.guerin@uah.edu

Dr. John Harfouch

Dr. John Harfouch

Associate Professor, Pre-Law Advisor

MOR 222
256.824.2337
john.nale@uah.edu

Dr. Deborah Heikes

Dr. Deborah Heikes

Professor

MOR 221
256.824.2335
deborah.heikes@uah.edu

Dr. Molly Johnson

Dr. Molly Johnson

Associate Professor Modern Europe & Russia

MOR 216
256.824.2566
molly.johnson@uah.edu

Dr. Lillian Joyce

Dr. Lillian Joyce

Associate Professor - Art History, Ancient Through Renaissance Art

WIL 160E
256.824.2588
joycel@uah.edu

Dr. Laura Lake Smith

Dr. Laura Lake Smith

Assistant Professor - Art History, Modern & Contemporary Art

WIL 164
256.824.2587
lls0016@uah.edu

Ms. Nicole McDavid

Ms. Nicole McDavid

Senior Lecturer Internship & Career Coordinator

MOR 232
256.824.5325
nicole.mcdavid@uah.edu

Dr. Sherri Messimer

Dr. Sherri Messimer

Associate Professor

OKT N148
256.824.6211
messims@uah.edu

Dr. Nicole Pacino

Dr. Nicole Pacino

Associate Professor Latin America

MOR 215
256.824.2568
nicole.pacino@uah.edu

Dr. John R. Pottenger

Dr. John R. Pottenger

Professor, Program Director

MOR 278J
256.824.2313
john.pottenger@uah.edu

Dr. Eric Seemann

Dr. Eric Seemann

Associate Professor

MOR 225
256.824.2323
eric.seemann@uah.edu

Dr. Jennifer Sims

Dr. Jennifer Sims

Assistant Professor

MOR 247
256.824.2301
jennifer.sims@uah.edu

Dr. Joseph Taylor

Dr. Joseph Taylor

Associate Professor

MOR 262
wjt0003@uah.edu

Dr. Chad Thomas

Dr. Chad Thomas

Associate Professor, Director of Women's and Gender Studies

MOR 278M
256.824.6323
chad.thomas@uah.edu

Dr. Aurora Torres

Dr. Aurora Torres

Assistant Professor

MOR 226
256.824.2320
aurora.torres@uah.edu

Dr. Stephen Waring

Dr. Stephen Waring

Professor 20th Century United States

MOR 217
256.824.6310
stephen.waring@uah.edu

Supporting Faculty

Kathryn Jill Johnson

Kathryn Jill Johnson

Department Chair, Art Professor of Art, Painting & Drawing

WIL 346
256.824.2592
johnsok1@uah.edu

Dr. Carolyn Sanders

Dr. Carolyn Sanders

Interim Department Chair - Psychology Professor - Trumpet

ROB 209
256.824.2580
carolyn.sanders@uah.edu

Dr. Andrée Reeves

Dr. Andrée Reeves

Associate Professor, Retired

256.824.2397
andree.reeves@uah.edu

Dr. Bhavani Sitaraman

Dr. Bhavani Sitaraman

Associate Professor, Retired

256.824.2297
bhavani.sitaraman@uah.edu

Dr. David Stewart

Dr. David Stewart

Associate Professor - Art History & Emeritus Faculty

stewartd@uah.edu

Ms. Roxie Veasey

Ms. Roxie Veasey

Senior Lecturer - Art, Drawing & Design

WIL 232
256.824.6115
veaseyr@uah.edu