Four receive UAH New Faculty Research awards


Four new tenure-track faculty members at The University of Alabama in Huntsville (UAH) will share $39,701 in 2016-17 New Faculty Research awards from UAH's Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development.

“We are delighted to be able to support these new faculty research grants and hope that the seed funding provided will result in more external funding opportunities for the faculty supported,” says Dr. Ray Vaughn, vice president for research and economic development.

The NFR program is intended to assist UAH's new tenure-track faculty in securing external funds in support of their scholarly interests.

Tenure-track professors who had been at UAH less than three years at the time of proposal submission were eligible. The funds must be spent within one year of the award, and the maximum award is $10,000. Awards were limited to one per faculty member.

Award winners, their college, center or department and their proposal title:

  • Dr. Leiqiu Hu, College of Science/Atmospheric Science, “Heat Exposure Risk Mapping in Cities: Connecting the Dynamics of Temperature and Population”
  • Dr. Maria Pour, College of Engineering/Electrical & Computer Engineering, “Multi-Function Virtual Antennas”
  • Dr. Kyung-Ho Roh, College of Engineering/Chemical & Materials Engineering, “Development of a Viscoelastic Alginate Hydrogel Platform to Induce Effective CD40-CD40L Signaling on B Cells – Toward B Cell Immunotherapy”
  • Dr. Sarah Roller, College of Education/Curriculum & Instruction, “Exploring Mentoring Conversations about Elementary Mathematics Teaching”


Dr. Ray Vaughn

Jim Steele