UAH faculty, researchers honored at annual awards ceremony

Dr. Christine Curtis and Dr. Eletra Gilchrist-Petty

UAH Provost Dr. Christine Curtis presents the 2018 Distinguished Teaching Award to Dr. Eletra Gilchrist-Petty, Associate Professor, Communication Arts, during the annual Awards Ceremony.

Michael Mercier | UAH

Dr. Eletra Gilchrist-Petty, an Associate Professor of Communication Arts, in the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, was the recipient of the 2018 Distinguished Teaching Award and Dr. Babak Shotorban, an Associate Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering in the College of Engineering was presented the University Distinguished Research Award at The University of Alabama in Huntsville (UAH) Awards Ceremony and Reception held on April 13, in the Student Services Building on campus.

College Outstanding Faculty Awards

Dr. Pavica Sheldon, Department Chair, Associate Professor, Communication Arts, College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

Dr. Liwu Hsu – Associate Professor, Marketing Department, College of Business

Dr. Sandra Lampley - Assistant Professor, Curriculum and Instruction Department, College of Education

Dr. Thomas Morris - Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering and Director, Center for Cybersecurity Research and Education, College of Engineering

Rebecca Davis - Clinical Assistant Professor of Nursing, College of Nursing

Dr. Ming Sun - Associate Professor, Physics, College Of Science

Research and Creative Activity Mentor Award

Dr. Shannon Mathis - Assistant Professor, Kinesiology, College of Education

Graduate School Awards

Mentor Award: Dr. Lawrence Carey - Department Chair, Professor of Atmospheric Science

Advisor Award: Jackie Siniard - Senior Staff Assistant, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Patent Awards

David Pollock (Center for Applied Optics) and Patrick Reardon (Center for Applied Optics) — "High-resolution, Hyper-spectral, Orthographic, HYSOSIS"

William Kaukler (Rotorcraft Systems Engineering and Simulation Center) — "Methods and Systems for Making Carbon Fibers for High Temperature Applications"

Emil Jovanov (Electrical and Computer Engineering) and Aleksandar Milenkovic (Electrical and Computer Engineering) — "Systems and Methods for Automatically Quantifying Mobility"

Randy Gaillard (Electrical and Computer Engineering) and John Williams (Center for Applied Optics/Nano and Micro Devices Center) — "Microfluidic Reactors for Oligonucleotide Synthesis"

Robert Lindquist (Associate Vice President for Contracts and Grants) and John Williams (Center for Applied Optics/Nano and Micro Devices Center) — "Systems and Methods for Tuning Resonators"

Pat Reardon (Center for Applied Optics) — "Fiber Optic Directional Sensor with Wide-Field Optical Field Expanding Element"

UAH Staff Awards

Excellence Award: Evangeline Harris, Admissions

Excellence Award: Valerie Johnson, Student Success Center

Facilities Award: Sofia Heredia, Custodial Services

Leadership Award: Candace Phillips, Career Services

Tenured and Promoted to Associate Professors

Robert Griffin, Atmospheric Science

Liwu Hsu, Marketing

Qiang Hu, Space Science

Kyle Knight, Sociology

Eric Mendenhall, Biological Sciences

Christina Steidl, Sociology

Ming Sun, Physics

Wolfram Verlaan, Education

Gabe Xu, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering


Mikel Petty, Computer Science - Promoted to Clinical Associate Professor

Angela Caires, Nursing - Promoted to Clinical Assistant Professor

Kirolos Haleem, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Promoted to Professor

Thomas Morris, Electrical and Computer Engineering

C. David Ragsdale, Music

Xuejing Xing, Finance


Peggy Bower


Popular Stories