Research Organization

Vice President for Research
Ray Vaughn, Ph.D

Associate Vice President for Research
Thomas M. Koshut, Ph.D
Associate Vice President for Research
Robert Lindquist, Ph.D

Executive Assistant
Kelli L. Gonzales

Administrative Assistant
Debby Griffith, CAP OM

Office of Sponsored Programs
Gloria Greene, Director
Office of Research Security
Denise Spiller, Security Administrator
Office of Technology and Commercialization
Kannan Grant, Director
Office of Compliance
John Cates, Chief Compliance Officer

Office of Proposal Development
Dr. Virginia (Suzy) Young, Director

Research Centers

Aerophysics Research Center / Research Institute
Phone: 256.464.6343 | Fax: 256.464.6848
Steve Messervy, Director
Center for Space Plasma & Aeronomic Research
Phone: 256.961.7401 | Fax: 256.961.7730
Gary P Zank, PhD, Director
Center for Modeling, Simulation & Analysis
Phone: 256.824.4368 | Fax: 256.824.4322
Mikel Petty, PhD, Director
Earth System Science Center
Phone: 256.961.7763 | Fax: 256.961.7751
John R. Christy, PhD, Director
Systems Management & Production Center
Phone: 256.824.0635 | Fax: 256.313.1922
Gary A. Maddux, PhD, Director
Information Technology and Systems Center
Phone: 256.824.6868 | Fax: 256.824.5149
Sara Graves, PhD, Director
Propulsion Research Center
Phone: 256.824.7200 | Fax: 256.824.7205
Robert Frederick, PhD, Director
Rotorcraft Systems Engineering and Simulation Center
Phone: 256.824.6846 | Cell: 256.642.9047 
Dave Arterburn, Director
Center for Applied Optics
Phone: 256.824.2530 | Fax: 256.824.6618
Patrick Reardon, PhD, Director