Congratulations to all of the students, faculty, and staff who were recognized at the 2015 College of Science Honors Convocation. 
See the full presentation here.

Faculty & Staff Awards 2015

  • NSF biodiesel research grant, Dr. Carmen Scholz, Interim Chair-Chemistry
  • Paper Selected by GenScript Scholars Program, Dr. Hannah McFeeters, Chemistry
  • NSF Blue Waters Petascale Application Improvement Discovery (PAID) Grant, Dr. Nikolai Pogorelov, Space Science
  • NSF CubeSat Award, Dr. Michael Briggs, Space Science
  • NSF Grant to Research STEM Student Retention, Dr. Debra Moriariety, Chair-Biology
  • Accepted into the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory Scientific Collaboration, CSPAR, Space Science
  • Asia Oceania Geosciences Society Axford Medal, Dr. Gary Zank, Space Science
  • 2015 UAH Research and Creative Activity Mentor Award, Dr. Robert Griffin, Atmospheric Science
  • 20 years of service to the POLY division of the American Chemical Society, Dr. Carmen Scholz, Chemistry
  • Dr. Adriel D. Johnson, Sr Power of One award from the UAH Minority Graduate Association, Dr. Emanuel Waddell, Chemistry
  • Senior Member of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), Dr. Timothy Newman, Computer Science
  • Interviewed guest on Science Friday Live! on Public Radio International, Dr. Richard S. Miller, Physics
  • UAH Individual Investigator Distinguished Research Award, Dr. Luciano Matzkin, Biology

Student Awards-2015

  • National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers Conference attendees, Samuel Nkruma-Agyeefi and Geordan Burkes, Chemistry
  • Summer internship at the University of Virginia School of Medicine, Steven Doyle, Biology and Chemistry minor
  • National Council of Undergraduate Research Poster selection, Kareem Omar, Physics
  • NASA Earth and Space Science Fellowship, Anthony DeStefano, Space Science; Xiaocan Li, Space Science
  • Regional 3-Minute Thesis 2nd-place winner, Aleksandra Pivovarova, Biology
  • American Chemical Society Organic Student of the Year, Kelly Marie Steinberg, Chemistry
  • Best Student Oral and Poster presentation from the 7th Annual Conference on the Meteorological Applications of Lightning Data, Retha Mecikalski, Atmospheric Science
  • Conference of Southern Graduate Schools Thesis Award in the category of Digital Scholarship, Eric Anderson, Earth System Science


Faculty & Staff Awards-2014

  • Senior member, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Lingze Duan, Physics
  • NASA Distinguished Public Service Medal, Dr. John Gregory, Chemistry
  • 2 NSF CAREER Awards
  • Award for Outstanding Contribution To The Advance Of Applied Meteorology, Dr. Dick McNider, Atmospheric Science
  • 7 UAH Distinguished Research Award
  • Foundation Award for Distinguished Teaching, Dr. Carol Strong, Physics
  • Distinguished Professor, University of Alabama Board of Trustees, Don Greggory, Physics
  • Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Advance Of Applied Meteorology
  • Team Leader, ISSI Research Team, Dr. N.V. Pogorelov, Space Science

Student Awards-2014

  • First Prize, Von Braun Research Symposium Poster Competition, Jeanné le Roux, Earth System Science
  • Second Prize, Von Braun Research Symposium Poster Competition, Chris Phillips, Earth System Science & Physics
  • Winner of Conference of Southern Graduate Schools Thesis Competition, Eric Anderson, Earth System Science
  • Three-minute Thesis Winner, Aleksandra Pivovarova, Biology
  • EPA fellow, Montana Etten-Bohm, Earth System Science undergraduate
  • Graduate Student Scholarship Program Award from the Alabama Commission on Higher Education, Lin Yang, Physics
  • NASA Headquarters Hands On Project Experience (HOPE) Group Achievement Award, Tomasz Lis and Dr. John Gregory, Physics
  • NASA Develop Project Lead, Kel Markert, Earth System Science
  • National Science Foundation Scholarship for Service "Cyber Corps" scholarship
  • 15 NASA Earth and Space Science Fellowships
  • National Council of Undergraduate Research Poster selection, Casey Calamaio, Earth System Science
  • AMS Radar Conference Poster Award
  • Three-minute Thesis Winner, David Gray, Biology
  • UAH Green Fund award for the establishment of a sustainable, natural fertilizer program
  • 4 HudsonAlpha BioTrain undergraduate student internships; 3 graduate student internships
  • 19 Summer Research & Creative Experience for Undergraduates recipients
  • 35 Internships & Co-Ops (academic year, 2014)
  • Honors College Student of the Year, Adam Powell, Chemistry

Aleksandra Pivovarova