UAH

Atmospheric Science Faculty

atsbanner3

ats awards ats publications ats resources

 

bitzer p Phillip Bitzer, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Research Interests
Lightning
 
Office: NSSTC 4012
Phone: 256.961.7948
Email: phillip.bitzer@nsstc.uah.edu
carey facultypic_new Larry Carey, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Interim Department Chair

Research Interests
Radar Remote Sensing, Severe Weather
 
Office: NSSTC 4002
Phone: 256.961.7909
Email: larry.carey@nsstc.uah.edu
christopher s-fac Sundar A. Christopher, Ph.D.

Professor
Dean, College of Science

Research Interests
Satellite Remote Sensing, Aerosols
Office: NSSTC 4042
Phone: 256.961.7872
Email: sundar@nsstc.uah.edu
johnchristypic2014 John R. Christy, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor, Director of ESSC
Research Interests
Climate, Climate Dynamics
 
Office: NSSTC 4040
Phone: 256.961.7763
Email: christy@nsstc.uah.edu
griffin-r Robert Griffin, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Research Interests
GIS and Remote Sensing, Human-Ecosystem
Dynamics
Office: NSSTC 3046
Phone: 256.961.7783
Email: rgriffin@nsstc.uah.edu
han-q Qingyuan Han, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Research Interests
Satellite Cloud Climatology, Remote Sensing,
Radiative Transfer 
Office: NSSTC 3047
Phone: 256.961.7785
Email: han@nsstc.uah.edu
knupp-k Kevin Knupp, Ph.D.
Professor
Research Interests
Ground-Based Remote Sensing, Cloud and Boundary
Layer Processes, Severe Storms 
Office: NSSTC 3052
Phone: 256.961.7762
Email: kevin.knupp@nsstc.uah.edu
mcnider copy Richard T. McNider
Distinguished Professor of Science
Research Interests:
Climate, Water Resources,
Air Quality, Numerical Modeling

 
Office: NSSTC 3051
Phone: (256) 961-7756
Email: richard.mcnider@nsstc.uah.edu
johnmecikalski new John R. Mecikalski, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Research Interests
Satellite Data Assimilation, Mesoscale Modeling,
Tropical Meteorology, Atmospheric Convection, Satellite Remote Sensing 
Office: NSSTC 3040
Phone: 256.961.7046
Email: johnm@nsstc.uah.edu 
nair-u Udaysankar Nair, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Research Interests
Land, Atmosphere, and Ecosystem Processes
 
Office: NSSTC 3049
Phone: 256.961.7841
Email: nair@nsstc.uah.edu
newchurch-m Michael J. Newchurch, Ph.D.
Professor
Research Interests:
 Atmospheric Chemistry, Satellite Remote Sensing and
Air Quality Modeling 
Office: NSSTC 3042
Phone: 256.961.7825
Email: mike@nsstc.uah.edu
perkey-d Donald J. Perkey, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Research Interests
Mesoscale Modeling, Global Change
 
Office: CH 3048
Phone: 256.961.7734
Email: don.perkey@nsstc.uah.edu
sever-t Tom Sever, Ph.D.
Professor
Research Interests
Remote Sensing, GIS Technology 
Office: NSSTC 3050
Phone: 256.961.7958
Email: tom.sever@nasa.gov
vaughan-w William W. Vaughan, Ph.D.
Research Professor
Research Interests
Satellite Meteorology, Reference and Standard
Atmospheres Aerospace Meteorology 
Office: CH 3070
Phone: 256.961.7759
Email: vaughan@nsstc.uah.edu

Affiliate Faculty:

Dr. Arastoo Biazar

Dr. Monte Bateman

Dr. Dan Cecil

Dr. Hugh Christian

Dr. Eugene Crawford

Dr. Richard Ferrare

Mr. Burgess Howell

Mr. Daniel Irwin

Dr. Gary Jedlovec

Dr. Timothy Lang

Dr. Xiong Liu

Dr. Eugene McCaul

Dr. Walt Petersen

Dr. Jonathan Pleim

Dr. Rahul Ramachandran

Dr. Roy Spencer