Alpha Lambda Delta



ALD Induction

  2012 Inductees





















Alpha Lambda Delta was founded in 1924 at the University of Illinois and is a member of the Association of College Honors Societies. Alpha Lambda Delta consists of 260 chapters at colleges and universities across the United States. The UAH Chapter dates from 1974 and is one of the oldest honoraries on campus.

Alpha Lambda Delta offers opportunities for supporting student education. The National Council which governs the organization has prudently invested the resources and gifts from local chapters, national council members, former fellowship recipients, and friends of the Society over the years so that the Perpetual Fellowship Fund now exceeds $3 million and can provide income to support 35 undergraduate scholarships of $1,000-$3,000 each, 23 graduate fellowships from $3,000 to $7,500.   The fellowships are named for significant people in the history of the Society including the founder, Maria Leonard, the first adviser, Gladys Pennington, two Executive Directors, and several national presidents.

In 2008, the National Council authorized the creation of ten new awards for ALD members embarking on study abroad programs: the James G. Stemler Study Abroad Scholarships.  These ten new awards will provide $1,000 in direct financial aid to ALD members who are pursuing international study - ALD's way of assisting students in developing the global outlook needed in the 21st century's global economy.  The Study Abroad Fellowships are named after former ALD National President James G. Stemler, the first male president of Alpha Lambda Delta and a vocal proponent of study abroad.

Eligibility for Alpha Lambda Delta membership is a distinction you and your family can be proud of. Upon induction, you will join more than 850,000 past members. Although membership is for a lifetime, it can only be obtained through your academic performance during your freshman year of college.

ALD National Homepage

ALD Scholarships and Awards Information

ALD National Store (for ordering graduation materials)

ALD National Leadership Workshop (October 2012 in San Antonio, TX)


University of Alabama in Huntsville Chapter Officers

President Taylor Reed-

Vice-President Cynthia Stanley-

Secretary Maryam Khamesi-

Treasurer Phillip Reed-


Faculty Sponsor Dr. Joseph Taylor-

Faculty Sponsor Dr. Joseph Conway-