"2016 National Concrete Canoe Competition"
Tyler, TX
June 9-11, 2016

Twenty one teams faced off on at the University of Texas at Tyler in pursuit of the 2016 NCCC title.

ETS Wins 2nd U.S. Title

Ecole de Technologie Superieure (ETS) (statistics) won their second U.S. national title at Tyler with "LETSGO."

ETS won their first second U.S. National title at Tyler. The University of California Los Angeles (UCLA) finished second followed by the University of Nevada Reno in third. Western Kentucky ended up fourth while the University of Wisconsin - Madison placed fifth.

2016 Spreadsheet

There have been only eleven schools to win the U.S. national title. Alabama Huntsville's Team UAH, the Berkeley Bears, Cal Poly - SLO, Clemson's 3CT, Ecole de Technologie Superieure (ETS), Nevada Reno's Wolf Pack, and the UW-Madison Badgers are the only teams to have won the competition more than once. With the exception of ETS and Nevada Reno, all schools have won back-to-back titles; Berkeley is the only school to have accomplished this feat twice. SLO has won the competition three times in a row.  Wisconsin-Madison stands alone in winning five consecutive national championships but Team UAH, the Bears, and the Badgers have five wins to their credit.

2016 NCCC Coverage

The competition was held at Tyler, Texas and hosted by the University of Texas at Tyler who finished 18th overall in the competition.

The University of Texas Tyler (statistics) with "Bridgette".

The first place overall winner in each of 18 Conferences were invited to compete at the 2016 National Concrete Canoe Competition. In addition, if the first place Conference winner finished in the top five overall in the 2015 National Competition (University of Florida, California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo, University of California - Berkeley, Ecole de Technologie Superieure, and Clemson University), the second place team was also be invited to compete. The host school (University of Texas Tyler) had the option of competing in 2016 or 2017. In the end, there were 21 competitors (see For the Record). Two schools (New York University - Tandon and McNeese State University) made their debut in 2016, thereby bringing the number of schools that have participated at the national level to 119. 

Competition Results

2016 NCCC Website Links

University of Texas Tyler University Student Chapter

2016 ASCE Official NCCC Website (history, rules and regulations, conference competitions, qualifying teams)

2016 ASCE Face Book Page

2017 National Concrete Canoe Competition

The 2017 NCCC will be held at the Colorado School of Mines in Golden, CO on June 17-18, 2017.