"2015 National Concrete Canoe Competition"
Clemson, South Carolina
June 20-22, 2015

Twenty two teams faced off on at Clemson in pursuit of the 2015 NCCC title.

Florida "Gators" Win U.S. Title

The University of Florida (statistics) won their first national title in Clemson with "Foreverglades."

The Gators from the University of Florida won their first National title at Clemson thereby earning a seventh national victory for the Southeast. Cal Poly - SLO finished second followed by the University of California, Berkeley in third. ETS ended up fourth while the host school, Clemson, placed fifth.

2015 Spreadsheet

There have been only eleven schools to win the U.S. national title. Alabama Huntsville's Team UAH, the Berkeley Bears, Cal Poly - SLO, Clemson's 3CT, Nevada Reno's Wolf Pack, and the UW-Madison Badgers are the only teams to have won the competition more than once. With the exception of Nevada Reno, all schools have won back-to-back titles; Berkeley is the only school to have accomplished this feat twice. SLO has won the competition three times in a row.  Wisconsin-Madison stands alone in winning five consecutive national championships but Team UAH, the Bears, and the Badgers have five wins to their credit.

2015 NCCC Coverage

The competition was held in Clemson, SC, a university town that provides a strong sense of community and a high quality of life for its residents. Nevada Reno's "Wolf Pack," who finished sixth overall, was the defending champion. 

Nevada Reno (statistics) won their second national title in Johnstown with "Alluvium" (2014 National Competition).

The first place overall winner in each of 18 Conferences were invited to compete at the 2015 National Concrete Canoe Competition. In addition, if the first place Conference winner finished in the top five overall in the 2014 National Competition (Nevada Reno, Cal Poly-SLO, Laval, Utah State, and Wisconsin-Madison), the second place team was also be invited to compete. The host school (Clemson) had the option of competing in 2015 or 2016. In the end, there were 22 competitors (see For the Record).

Competition Results

Regarding the National Host

Clemson's Concrete Canoe Teams (3CT) have proudly represented the Carolinas Conference a record breaking twenty one times at the national level. Their three national wins and two second and third place finishes, qualify them as one of the strongest players in the game. Clemson and the University of Wisconsin - Madison hold the record for the most consecutive national appearances at 14 years.  

Regarding Clemson, 3CT (statistics) has twelve top five wins to their credit and their teams have finished fifteen times in the top ten. The school was well qualified to host the nationals, since they did so in 2005. Clemson is world renowned for their competitive sports programs and 3CT knows what it takes to field "The Game Day Experience" (the name of their 2014 entry)..

Clemson's Memorial Stadium is known as Death Valley.

Clemson's Memorial Stadium became known as "Death Valley" after It was tagged this by the late Presbyterian coach, Lonnie McMillan. After bringing his P.C. football teams to Clemson for years and getting whipped, McMillan said the place was like Death Valley. A few years later the name stuck. In 1974, the playing surface was named Frank Howard Field for the legendary coach because of his long service and dedication to the University.

2015 NCCC Website Links

Clemson University Student Chapter

2015 ASCE Official NCCC Website (history, rules and regulations, conference competitions, qualifying teams)

2015 ASCE Face Book Page

2016 National Concrete Canoe Competition

The 2016 NCCC will be held at the University of Texas at Tyler, on June 9-11, 2016.