The Atmospheric Science (ATS) department was created to encourage interdisciplinary study of the Earth as an integrated system across traditional boundaries.

The ATS is involved in several areas of Earth System research focusing on the basic science of the earth-atmosphere system. Scientists are involved in the evaluation of global-scale climate models, regional studies of the coupled atmosphere/ocean/ice systems, regional severe weather detection and prediction, measuring the local and global impact of the aerosols and pollutants, detecting lightning from space and the general development of remotely-sensed data bases.

A cross-cutting strength of ATS faculty and students is the application of remote sensing data, both space and ground-based, to the myriad of questions related to the Earth System.


icebergs

Atmospheric Chemistry

Contact

Mike Newchurch

Air-Quality Satellite Remote Sensing, Lidar, and Modeling

mike@nsstc.uah.edu
  256.824.7877

Shanhu Lee

Atmospheric Chemistry, Aerosol-Cloud Lifecycle, Atmosphere-Biosphere Interactions

shanhu.lee@uah.edu
  256.824.7877

Learn More


hurricane

Modeling / Data Assimilation

Contact

Udaysankar Nair

Mesoscale Modeling, Land Use

nair@nsstc.uah.edu
  256.824.7877

John Mecikalski

Data Assimilation, Convective Initiation

johnm@nsstc.uah.edu
  256.824.7877

Learn More


hurricane

Severe Weather

Contact

Larry Carey

Radar Meteorology

larry.carey@nsstc.uah.edu
  256.824.7877

Kevin Knupp

Severe Weather

kevin@nsstc.uah.edu
  256.824.7877

Phillip Bitzer

Lightning

phiIIip.bitzen@nsstc.uah.edu
  256.824.7877

Learn More


hurricane

Satellite Remote Sensing & Climate

Contact

Sundar Christopher

Aerosols

sundar@nsstc.uah.edu
  256.824.7877

Mike Newchurch

Air-Quality Satellite Remote Sensing, Lidar, and Modeling

mike@nsstc.uah.edu
  256.824.7877

John Christy

Climate

christy@nsstc.uah.edu
  256.824.7877

Shanhu Lee

Atmospheric Chemistry, Aerosol-Cloud Lifecycle, Atmosphere-Biosphere Interactions

shanhu.lee@nsstc.uah.edu
  256.824.7877

Learn More


hurricane

Earth System Science / GIS & Remote Sensing

Contact

Tom Sever

Remote Sensing, GIS & Space Archaeology

sever@nsstc.uah.edu
  256.824.7877

Udanaysankar Nair

Land, Atmosphere & Ecosystem Processes

nair@nsstc.uah.edu
  256.824.7877

Sundar Christopher

Remote Sensing, Air Pollution

sundar@nsstc.uah.edu
  256.824.7877

Rob Griffin

GIS & Land Cover Remote Sensing

rgriffin@nsstc.uah.edu
  256.824.7877

Learn More

GIS
 
 

Faculty Research Interests

Climate Dr. Christy, Dr. Nair, Dr. Christopher, Dr. Lee
Air Quality Dr. Newchurch, Dr. Christopher, Dr. Lee
Chemistry Dr. Newchurch, Dr. Lee
Data Assimilation Dr. Mecikalski and Dr. Nair
Lightning Dr. Bitzer, Dr. Carey
Severe Weather Dr. Knupp, Dr. Carey
Satellite Remote Sensing Dr. Christopher, Dr. Han, Dr. Christy, Dr. Mecikalski
Numerical Modeling Dr. Nair, Dr. Mecikalski
Land use Dr. Nair, Dr. Mecikalski
Radar Dr. Carey, Dr. Knupp
Radiative Transfer Dr. Han, Dr. Christopher
Aerosols Dr. Christopher, Dr. Nair, Dr. Lee
GIS, Human-Ecosystem Dynamics, Land Cover Remote Sensing Dr. Griffin
GIS, Space Archaeology Dr. Sever