2020 College of Science Honors Recognition

Although we could not gather in person for our Honors Day convocation this spring, we can still celebrate the successes of our College of Science honorees. Please explore the links below to recognize and be inspired by those who earned special achievement awards.

Scholar Athletes

Congratulations to the College of Science Scholar Athletes who achieved excellence in academic performance during the spring or fall 2019 semester while competing as a varsity athlete.

  • Kramer Crider
  • Griffin Gillespie
  • Edward Harvey-Latham
  • Jessica Pascadlo
  • Stefanie Mehlich
  • Holly Harris
  • Nicholas Klein
  • Heather Phillips
  • Kendall Scharbert
  • Gabrielle Westenberger
  • Palmer Ford
  • Joseph Stuber
  • Alison Smith
  • Isabelle Barnes
  • Sloan Mann
  • Cameron Crews
  • Kennedy Sellers
  • William Stump
  • Sydney Woods

Science Ambassadors

College of Science Ambassadors model excellence through their quality academic performance and commitment to our college. Leading by example, they fuel a sense of pride and make a significant impact by improving communication and fostering a culture of inclusion.

  • Adriana Bolton
  • Angela Burke
  • Timo Christen
  • Manohar Devarasetty
  • Vasu Devarasetty
  • Skyler Edwards
  • Kayla Hiland
  • Rishi Kamath
  • Tabitha Massengill
  • Juwuan Turner-Howard
  • Christopher Woods
  • Tamara Zaza

Undergraduate Dean’s List

The Undergraduate Dean’s List includes those students who have maintained a grade point average of 3.5 or higher on twenty or more hours during the 2019 spring, summer, and fall semesters. View the Undergraduate Dean's list.

Highest Undergraduate Achievement Award

The College of Science Highest Undergraduate Achievement Award is given to Veera Venkata Naga Manohar Devarasetty in recognition of his excellent record of academic performance, his thoughtful leadership, and service to our college community. Manohar’s outstanding accomplishments have set a high standard for our students.

Veera Venkata Naga Manohar Devarasetty

Veera Venkata Naga Manohar Devarasetty

Department Achievement Awards

The College of Science Department Achievement Awards are given to outstanding undergraduate students with a strong record of academic performance along with service involvement and discipline related experience.

Nicholas Johnson Atmospheric & Earth Science View Award
Joseph Noble Biological Sciences View Award
Marisa Thompson Chemistry View Award
Tris Wilson Computer Science View Award
Quinten Ryan McKinney Mathematical Sciences View Award
Nicholas Schragal Physics & Astronomy View Award

Graduate Research Award

The Graduate Research Award is given to an outstanding graduate student who has conducted leading edge research, published papers in peer reviewed journals and presented work in major conferences.

Hemang Jani
Department of Physics & Astronomy,
under the advisement of Dr. Lingze Duan

Graduate Teaching Assistant Award

The Graduate Teaching Assistant Award is given to an outstanding graduate student who has demonstrated excellence in teaching and commitment to student success.

James Wolfsberger
Department of Chemistry

Teaching Excellence Award

The College of Science Faculty Teaching Excellence Award is given to a faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching through creative and innovative methods and who is committed to student success.

Themistoklis Chronis

Dr. Themistoklis Chronis

Department of Physics & Astronomy
Michelle Greene

Michelle Greene

Department of Chemistry

Research Excellence Award

The College of Science Faculty Research Excellence Award is given to a faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in leading edge research as evidenced by peer-reviewed publications, proposals and mentoring of graduate students.

Matthew Niemiller

Dr. Matthew Niemiller

Department of Biological Sciences

Research Horizons Poster Contest Winners


1st Place Nicholas Schragal Optics Observatory Conversion: From Solar to Stellar View Poster
1st Place Greta Paris Utilizing NASA Earth Observations to Assess Coastline Replenishment Initiatives and Shoreline Risk Along Delaware's Coasts View Poster
2nd Place Skyler Edwards Assessing the Accuracy of Landslide Runout Simulations in Myanmar, Southeast Asia View Poster
3rd Place Helen Gibson Liver Ubd is Upregulated in the LEW.1WR1 Rat View Poster


1st Place Katherine Strattman Mapping Mangrove Forests in the Niger Delta using Data Fusion and Machine Learning Techniques View Poster
2nd Place Claire Nauman Evaluating Flood Forecasting System Performance in Cambodia During the 2019 Flood Season View Poster
3rd Place Sara Miller Evaluating Drought Indices for Early Warning in East and Southern Africa View Poster
3rd Place Caily Schwartz Developing a Customized Composite Drought Index for Pakistan View Poster

Previous Award Recipients