College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences Highest Academic Achievement

Micah Huckabee

FACULTY AWARDS AND RECOGNITION

University Distinguished Teaching Award Nominee
Cristhian Alfonso

University Distinguished Teaching Award Nominee
Robert Thomson

University Distinguished Research, Creative Achievement, and Scholarly Performance Award Nominee

Eric Smith

Graduate Mentor Award Nominee
Joe Conway

Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity Mentor Award Nominee

Samantha Moe

College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences Outstanding Part-Time Faculty Award

Shawn Ratcliff

College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences Outstanding Staff Award

Jenny Clifton

College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences Outstanding Faculty Award

Robert Thomson

College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences Faculty promoted to Senior Lecturer

Beth Boswell Lacy Marschalk-Brecciaroli Linda Hannah Joseph Robertshaw

College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences Faculty Awarded tenure and promoted to Associate Professor

> Amalia Osuga Robert Thomson Joseph Watson

Congratulations to all who are recognized in today's program!
The faculty and staff of the College of Arts, Humanities, and
Social Sciences applaud your commitment to academic
excellence, research, creativity, and performance.

Please join us following the awards program today for a reception in the Morton Hall Expansion Lobby.

CELEBRATING YOUR ACCOMPLISHMENTS



View all awards and event photos at uah.edu/ahs/students/honors-and-scholarship





COLLEGE OF ARTS, HUMANITIES, & SOCIAL SCIENCES

ACADEMIC HONORS 2025



April 4, 2025 1p.m. Morton Hall

ACADEMIC HONORS DAY

WELCOME

Dr. Sean Lane

Dean, College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

RECOGNITION OF UNDERGRADUATE AND GRADUATE ACHIEVEMENTS

Art, Art History, & Design
Communication Arts
English
History
Music, Theatre, & Film
Philosophy & Political Science

Dr. Lilian Joyce, Interim Chair
Dr. Nur Makbul, Faculty
Dr. Chad Thomas, Chair
Dr. Christine Sears, Chair
Dr. Joshua Burel, Chair
Dr. Nick Jones, Chair

Psychology Dr. Jodi Price, Associate Dean & Chair

Sociology Dr. Dan Morrison, Chair
World Languages and Cultures Dr. Leslie Kaiura, Chair
Interdisciplinary Programs Dr. Nicole Pacino, Director

College Highest Achievement Dr. Sean Lane, Dean

MUSICAL SELECTION

"For the Fleeting Moment" by Aaron Trewitt Performed by Erin Brizic on the Vibraphone

RECOGNITION OF FACULTY AWARDS

Dr. Christina Steidl

Associate Dean, College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

CLOSING

Dr. Sean Lane

Dean, College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS

DEPARTMENT OF ART. ART HISTORY & DESIGN AWARDS

Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement

Josey Severance

American Advertising Award Winners

Annie Weaver Alyssa Green Courtney Tony

Micaela Haynes Logan Bracknell

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION ARTS AWARD

Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement

Kiara Smith

DEPARTMENT OF ENGLISH AWARDS

Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement - English

Cecilia Duykers

Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement - Writing

Juno Steele-Gray

Outstanding Graduate Achievement

Mallory McDonald

Outstanding Thesis Achievement

Amy Vaillancourt

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORY AWARDS

Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement

Micah Huckabee

Outstanding Graduate Achievement

Mary Hughes

The National Society of the Colonial Dames in the State of Alabama History Essay Award **Kyle Curtis**

Colonel Walter Aston Chapter of the Colonial Dames of the XVII Century History Award **Morgon Newquist**

The Johanna N. Shields Award

Rebekah Faris

DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC, THEATRE & FILM AWARDS

Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement in Music

Avery St. Julian

Outstanding Undergraduate Performer in Music

Erin Brizic

Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement in Theatre

Trishtan Saban

Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement in Film

Matthew Clark

ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS

DEPARTMENT OF PHILOSOPHY & POLITICAL SCIENCE AWARDS

Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement in Philosophy

Maxwell Stofer

Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement in Political Science Sierra Rose Aragon

Outstanding Graduate Achievement in Public Affairs

Daniel Ward

DEPARTMENT OF PSYCHOLOGY AWARDS

Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement - Psychological Sciences **Lindsey May**

Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement - Psychological Services

Amaris Alaniz

Outstanding Graduate Achievement - Masters

Kara Muscha

Outstanding Graduate Achievement - PhD

Taylor Yeazitzis

Outstanding Thesis Achievement

Bryanna Hamblin

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIOLOGY AWARD

Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement

Sabrina Adhami

DEPARTMENT OF WORLD LANGUAGES AND CULTURES AWARDS

Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement

Alyssa Bischoff

Taylor Gordon Memorial Award for Foreign Language Study

David Harris

INTERDISCIPLINARY PROGRAMS AWARDS

Outstanding Professional Studies Undergraduate Achievement **Daisia Fortenberry**

Outstanding Ancient and Medieval Studies Student Award **Jacob Linde**

Outstanding Global Studies Student Award **Kiara Smith**

Outstanding Justice and Equity Studies Student Award **Tucker Quering**

Outstanding User Experience Student Award

Bailee Segars

Outstanding Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Student Award **Amaris Alaniz**

Kathryn L. Harris Women's and Gender Studies Writing Competition Winners

Vivian Brock (Undergraduate) McKenzie Sharp (Graduate)