

The Biological Sciences Memorial Scholarship

The Biological Sciences Memorial Scholarship was established in 2011 to honor the memory of late Biological Sciences faculty members Dr. Gopi K. Podila, Dr. Maria Ragland Davis, and Dr. Adriel D. Johnson Sr.

The scholarship is awarded to a first-time freshman pursuing a degree in Biological Sciences. Eligible applicants must have a high school GPA of least a 3.4 on a 4.00 scale, an ACT score of 28 or higher, and must have a demonstrated record of service to their school and community. Preference is given to students who have demonstrated financial need in order to pursue a degree.

Dr. Gopi K. Podila, noted biologist and academician, served as Chairperson of the UAH Department of Biological Sciences. Dr. Maria Ragland Davis began her tenure with the UAH Biological Sciences Department in the fall of 2002. Her research centered on plant genomics and biotechnology. The research interests of Dr. Adriel D. Johnson, Sr. included cell biology and nutritional physiology. While at UAH, Dr. Johnson served as advisor for the Minority Graduate Student Association, and recruited minority graduate and doctoral students to attend the university as LSAMP scholars for nearly 20 years.

This scholarship is renewable for up to three additional years. The student must maintain a full-time course load (12 credit hours) each semester. In addition, recipients must complete a total of 24 credit hours each academic year and have a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or higher to be eligible for renewal. The recipient must also continue their pursuit of a Biological Sciences degree. Students should submit a scholarship application every year in order to update their files and possibly be eligible for other awards.