

MEMORANDUM

DATE: April 27, 2022

TO: UAH Faculty and Staff

FROM: Robert G. Lindquist Robert Lindquist

Interim Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

SUBJECT: Promotion and Tenure Decisions Effective Academic Year 2022/2023

I am pleased to announce the tenure and promotion decisions, effective academic year 22/23. These decisions resulted from extensive reviews by faculty colleagues at the department, college, and university levels and, in appropriate cases, references by distinguished colleagues from other academic institutions. My decisions took into account those reviews and the recommendations of the chairs and deans. Interim President Karr concurred with the decisions.

AWARD OF TENURE AND PROMOTION TO ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR:

Dylan Baun History

Haeyong Chung Computer Science

Ryan Conners Kinesiology

Matthew Niemiller Biological Sciences

Biswajit Ray Electrical & Computer Engineering

Kyung-Ho Roh Chemical Engineering

Lenore Smith Nursing

AWARD OF TENURE

Ann Bianchi Nursing

Frank Mullins Management

PROMOTION TO PROFESSOR

Jose Betancourt Art, Art History, & Design

Jason Cassibry Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Vladimir Florinski Space Science

Shanhu Lee Atmospheric & Earth Science

Jakobus Le RouxSpace ScienceMikel PettyComputer ScienceSeyed SadeghiPhysics & AstronomyMing SunPhysics & Astronomy

PROMOTION TO PROFESSOR with TENURE

Susan Alexander Nursing

PROMOTION TO CLINICAL PROFESSOR

Elizabeth Barnby Nursing

PROMOTION TO CLINICAL ASSISTANT PROFESSOR

Sheila Gentry Nursing
Miranda Smith Nursing

PROMOTION TO SENIOR LECTURER

Mary Beth Allen Computer Science
Judy Cooper Biological Sciences
Nicole McDavid Communication Arts

Richard Tantaris Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

PROMOTION TO LIBRARIAN III

Ron Schwertfeger Salmon Library

The newly promoted and tenured faculty have achieved high levels of excellence in the areas of research, teaching, and service. They are a tribute to the faculty who recruited them, mentored them, and encouraged them along the way. Please join me in congratulating them on the achievement of this milestone and wishing them continued success at The University of Alabama in Huntsville.