MEMORANDUM

TO: UAH Faculty and Staff

FROM: Robert A. Altenkirch, President

DATE: September 16, 2013

SUBJECT: Revision of General Education Curricula

Over the past decade, numerous universities nationwide have undertaken revision of their general education curricula. As a natural extension of the strategic planning undertaken at UAH over the past year, such a review is essential as the institution looks to focus its programs, streamline its undergraduate curriculum, and enhance its competitive edge while maintaining strict commitment to academic quality and integrity. To this end, a General Education Steering Committee of approximately 40 members has been identified - drawn from the Colleges, Faculty Senate, and the University community at large.

The Steering Committee will convene this semester to begin review of the current general education curriculum. Dr. Brent Wren (Associate Provost) and Dr. Andrea Word (Director, ILC) have agreed to co-chair the Steering Committee and will be in communication with its members to establish a timeline of activities. The goal is to have a revised general education curriculum in place by fall 2014.

The committee membership is listed below. Details of the Steering Committee's activities, as well as those of emerging Task Forces focused on the procedural implementation of the revised general education curriculum, will be made available to the University community at large through a dedicated website.

General Education Review Steering Committee

Business Administration

John Burnett (FIN)
Dan Sherman (MGT)
Chris Allport (ACC)
David Allen (ECN)
Yeqing Bao (Assoc Dean; MKT)

Engineering

Kader Frendi (MAE)
Jennifer English (Assoc Dean; ECE)
Phil Farrington (ISE)
CP Chen (CHE)
Houssam Toutanji (CCE)

Liberal Arts

Jodi Price (PY)
Laurel Bollinger (EH)
Christine Sears (HY)
Andy Cling (Assoc Dean; PHL)
Beth Quick (ED)
Linda Maier (FL)
David Ragsdale (MU)

Science

Dan Rochowiak (Assoc Dean) Rob Griffin (ESS) Carmen Scholz (CH) Shelley Lenahan (MA) Lingze Duan (PH) Deb Moriarity (BYS)

Nursing

Rita Ferguson Amy Lanz Elise Adams Marlena Primeau

Administration

Alan Constant (SSC) Suzy Steen (OIE) Mitch Berbrier (Faculty Senate) Brent Wren (Co-Chair) Andrea Word (Co-Chair)

Thanks,

Bob