Senate Resolution 09/10-06: Senate Membership Exceptions

WHEREAS, The Faculty Senate By-Laws state under Section II, part B "Any tenured, tenure-earning, clinical faculty, or research faculty member, including department chairs, will be eligible to be elected to membership in the Senate: administrators above the level of department chairs are not eligible to serve"; and

WHEREAS, Administrators have typically included faculty who are directors, college deans, associate vice-presidents, and the university president; and

WHEREAS, The title of director has evolved to mean more than a research center director or director of a large unit like the Student Success Center; and

WHEREAS, Faculty members are being named "directors" of university programs, but are still primarily faculty members with teaching duties, creative and research duties and service duties; and

WHEREAS, The eligibility requirements for senate membership are broad and not well defined given the evolution of the director title;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED

The Director of the Freshmen Experience Program and the Director of the Honor's Program should be eligible to serve on the Faculty Senate

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED

The Governance and Operations Committee of the Faculty Senate develop new language for the bylaws regarding Senate eligibility for full Senate review prior to next election of Senate Members in 2011