The Eminent Scholar Program began as the result of a state-sponsored program that was supplemented by UAH funding efforts and a Challenge Grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities in the early 1990's.  This page contains a historical reference identifying some of the scholars that have visited the UAH community as a result of this Humanities Center program.

Some Past Eminent Scholars

Catherine Elgin

Professor of Philosophy of Education, Harvard University

Charles Mills

John Evans Professor of Moral and Intellectual Philosophy, Northwestern University

Sena Jeter Naslund

Writer in Residence, University of Louisville

Michael Neufeld

Senior Curator, National Air and Space Museum

Margaret Simons

Director of the Centre for Advancing Journalism, University of Melbourne

Martha Vicinus

Eliza M. Mosher Distinguished University Professor of English, Women's Studies, and History, University of Michigan