Materials Science

Materials Science

James Baird (Chemistry) Ph.D. Harvard

Radiation chemistry, crystal growth, critical phenomena, diffusion, shock waves and heat transfer

jkbaird@matsci.uah.edu


Michael George (Chemistry) Ph.D. Arizona State University

Sensors, surface properties

mgeorge@matsci.uah.edu


Don Gregory (Physics) Ph.D. University of Alabama in Huntsville

Optical and quantum properties of materials

gregoryd@uah.edu


John Gregory (Chemistry) Ph.D. Imperial College, London, U. K.

Surface chemistry, structure of surfaces, surface reactions, modification of surfaces, hyperthermal gas-surface reaction mechanisms

jcgregory@matsci.uah.edu

            

 William Kaukler (Chemistry) Ph.D. University of Toronto, Canada

Solidification and crystal growth of polyphase metallic and organic materials, interface characterization, diagnostic techniques,  low-gravity experimentation

william.kaukler@msfc.nasa.gov


Carmen Scholz (Chemistry) Ph.D. University of Technology, Dresden, Germany

Biocompatible and biodegradable polymers

cscholz@chemistry.uah.edu


Bernhard Vogler (Chemistry) Ph.D. University of Tuebingen, Germany

Nuclear magnetic resonance, structure of small molecules, polymers

Bernhard.Vogler@uah.edu


Emanuel Waddell (Chemistry) Ph.D. Louisiana State University

Laser ablation, polymer surface modification, molecular patterning, microfluidics

emanuel.waddell@uah.edu


Jeffrey Weimer (Chemistry/Chemical Engineering) Ph.D. M.I.T.

Adhesion, heterogeneous catalysts, thin films, corrosion/electrochemistry, surface spectroscopy, scanning probe microscopy

Jeffrey.Weimer@uah.edu