Biotechnology & Structural Biology

Biotechnology & Structural Biology

Ramazan Aygun (Computer Science) Ph.D. SUNY at Buffalo

Bioinformatics

 raygun@cs.uah.edu


James Baird (Chemistry) Ph.D. Harvard

Protein crystal growth

jkbaird@matsci.uah.edu


Luis Cruz-Vera (Biological Sciences) Ph.D. Center for Research and Advanced Studies, Mexico City, Mexico

Protein synthesis, gene expression regulation, function of antibiotics

 lrc0002@uah.edu


Leland Cseke (Biological Sciences) Ph.D. University of Michigan

Plant molecular biology and biotechnology, plant secondary metabolism, environmental genomics

csekel@uah.edu


Joseph Leahy (Biological Sciences) Ph.D. University of Maryland

Molecular and genetic aspects of hydrocarbon degradation by bacteria

leahyj@uah.edu


Roy Magnuson (Biological Sciences) Ph.D. M.I.T.

Bacterial gene expression, biochemistry, genetics

magnusr@uah.edu


Luciano Matzkin (Biological Sciences) Ph.D. SUNY at Stony Brook

Evolution, insect adaptation, detoxification, genomics

lmatzkin@uah.edu


Hana McFeeters (Chemistry) Ph.D. Masaryk University, Brno, Czech Republic

Macromolecular interactions, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance spectroscopy, development and characterization of inhibitors of viral, bacterial, and fungalpathogens

hk0003@uah.edu


Robert McFeeters (Chemistry) Ph.D. Cornell University

Macromolecular interactions, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance spectroscopy, infectious diseases, developing viral entry inhibitors and microbicides

robert.mcfeeters@uah.edu


Eric Mendenhall (Biological Sciences) Ph.D. University of Minnesota

Epigenetics and chromatin biology, synthetic biology, genomics


Timothy Newman (Computer Science) Ph.D. Michigan State University

            Biomedical imaging

            tnewman@cs.uah.edu


Joseph Ng (Biological Sciences) Ph.D. University of California, Riverside

Protein crystallography, structural biology of extremophile proteins

ngj@uah.edu


Carmen Scholz (Chemistry) Ph.D. University of Technology, Dresden, Germany

Biocompatible and biodegradable polymers

cscholz@chemistry.uah.edu


John Shriver (Biological Sciences/Chemistry) Ph.D. Case Western Reserve University

Structural biology, nuclear magnetic resonance

shriverj@uah.edu


William Setzer (Chemistry) Ph.D. University of Arizona

Natural products drug discovery, phytochemistry

wsetzer@chemistry.uah.edu


Pamela Twigg (Chemistry) Ph.D. Florida State University

Protein biochemistry, X-ray crystallography, biomolecular NMR, biomolecular interactions, metabolomics, neurological disease

twiggp@uah.edu


Bernhard Vogler (Chemistry) Ph.D. University of Tuebingen, Germany

Nuclear magnetic resonance, structure determination, natural products, phytochemistry, drug discovery drug discovery

Bernhard.Vogler@uah.edu


 Emanuel Waddell (Chemistry) Ph.D. Louisiana State University

Laser ablation, polymer surface modification, molecular patterning, microfluidics

emanuel.waddell@uah.edu