UAH

Faculty & Staff

James K. Baird
Professor
Chemistry 
protein crystal growth, fundamental mechanisms Office: MSB 115
Phone: 256.824.6441
Email: bairdj@uah.edu 
Donna L. Boyd
Associate Professor
Biology
gene function and expression, embryogenesis  Office: SC 369J
Phone: 256.824.6166
Email: donna.boyd@uah.edu
Ramon L. Cerro
Professor and Chairman
Chemical and Materials Engineering 
bioprocessing, theoretical and experimental fluid mechanics, nanotechnology Office: EB 131
Phone: 256.824.7313
Email: rlc@che.uah.edu
Krishnan K. Chittur
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering 
FTIR, biosurfaces, protein interaction, expression profiling Office: EB 121
Phone: 256.824.3596
Email: chitturk@uah.edu
Luis R. Cruz-Vera
Assistant Professor
Biology 
molecular biology, translation and gene expression regulation Office: WH 346
Phone: 256.824.6261
Email: luis.cruz-vera@uah.edu 
Leland J. Cseke
Assistant Professor
Biology 
plant molecular biology, biotechnology, metabolic engineering  Office: SC 302E
Phone: 256.824.6774
Email: leland.cseke@uah.edu
Stephen P. Edmondson
Research Associate Professor
Chemistry 
NMR spectroscopy, protein structure and function Office: MSB 305
Phone: 256.824.3132
Email: edmonds@uah.edu 
Joseph G. Leahy
Associate Professor
Biology 
bioremediation, environmental microbiology Office: SC 369M
Phone: 256.824.6371
Email: joseph.leahy@uah.edu 
Robert McFeeters
Assistant Professor
Chemistry 
antiviral entry inhibition and transcriptional regulation of the bacterial nucleoid Office: MSB 215
Phone: 256.824.6023
Email: robert.mcfeeters@uah.edu 
Roy D. Magnuson
Associate Professor
Biology 
plasmid host interactions Office: WH 258
Phone: 256.824.6094
Email: roy.magnuson@uah.edu
Luciano M. Matzkin
Assistant Professor
Biology 
evolutionary biology, ecological and evolutionary genomics and population genetics Office: SC 369
Phone: 256.824.6250
Email: luciano.matzkin@uah.edu 
Edward J. Meehan
Professor
Chemistry 
protein crystallography, structural genomics, structure-based drug design Office: MSB 235
Phone: 256.824.6533
Email: meehane@uah.edu 
Debra M. Moriarity
Department Chair and Professor
Biology 
regulation of eukaryotic gene expression, natural products drug discovery Office: SC 369D
Phone: 256.824.6045
Email: debra.moriarity@uah.edu
Joseph D. Ng
Associate Professor
Biology 
macromolecular crystallization, structure/function of extremophilic proteins, synthetic biology Office: MSB 221C
Phone: 256.824.3715
Email: joseph.ng@uah.edu
Carmen Scholz
Professor
Chemistry 
biodegradable polymers Office: MSB 333
Phone: 256.824.6188
Email: scholzc@uah.edu
William N. Setzer
Department Chair and Professor
Chemistry 
biomedicinal aspects of biologically active phytochemicals, natural products chemistry Office: MSB 115
Phone: 256.824.6519
Email: wsetzer@matsci.uah.edu
John W. Shriver
Professor
Chemistry, Biology 
protein structure and function, NMR spectroscopy, structual biology/biophysics Office: MSB 311
Phone: 256.824.6153
Email: john.shriver@uah.edu 
Pam Twigg
Research Assistant Professor
Chemistry 
protein structure and biophysical characterization of proteins, X-ray crystallography and NMR Office: MSB 225
Phone: 256.824.6935
Email: twiggp@uah.edu
Bernhard Vogler
Associate Professor
Chemistry 
drug discovery and structure elucidation Office: MSB 321
Phone: 256.824.6267
Email: bvogler@chemistry.uah.edu 
Emanuel Waddell
Assistant Professor
Chemistry 
microfluidics, molecular patterning Office: MSB 139
Phone: 256.824.2695
Email: ewaddell@chemistry.uah.edu 

HudsonAlphaAdjunct Faculty

Scientists from the Hudson Alpha Institute, NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center (Space Science Laboratory), Oak Ridge Laboratory, and local biotechnology companies serve as adjunct faculty to the program with expertise in at least one of the thrust areas of Biotechnology Science and Engineering.