Atmospheric Science Faculty

 

Phillip Bitzer, PhD

assistant professor

  NSSTC 4012
phillip.bitzer@nsstc.uah.edu
256.961.7948

Larry Carey, PhD

Associate Professor/chair

  NSSTC 4042
larry.carey@nsstc.uah.edu
256.961.7909

Sundar A. Christopher, PhD

professor/dean, college of science

  MSB C207
sundar@nsstc.uah.edu
256.824.6605

JOHN R. CHRISTY, PhD

DISTINGUISHED professor/DIRECTOR OF ESSC

  NSSTC 4040
christy@nsstc.uah.edu
256.961.7763

ROBERT GRIFFIN, PhD

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR

  NSSTC 3046
rgriffin@nsstc.uah.edu
256.961.7783

QUINGYUAH HAN, PhD

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

  NSSTC 3047
han@nsstc.uah.edu
256.824.7785

KEVIN KNUPP, PhD

professor

  NSSTC 3052
kevin.knupp@nsstc.uah.edu
256.961.7762

RICHART T. MCNIDER, PhD

DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR OF SCIENCE

  NSSTC 3051
richard.mcnider@nsstc.uah.edu
256.961.7756

 

 

JOHN R. MECIKALSKI, PhD

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

  NSSTC 3040
johnm@nsstc.uah.edu
256.824.704

     
     
johnchristypic2014 John R. Christy, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor, Director of ESSC
Research Interests
Climate, Climate Dynamics
 
Office: NSSTC 4040
Phone: 256.961.7763
Email: christy@nsstc.uah.edu
griffin-r Robert Griffin, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Research Interests
GIS and Remote Sensing, Human-Ecosystem
Dynamics
Office: NSSTC 3046
Phone: 256.961.7783
Email: rgriffin@nsstc.uah.edu
han-q Qingyuan Han, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Research Interests
Satellite Cloud Climatology, Remote Sensing,
Radiative Transfer 
Office: NSSTC 3047
Phone: 256.961.7785
Email: han@nsstc.uah.edu
knupp-k Kevin Knupp, Ph.D.
Professor
Research Interests
Ground-Based Remote Sensing, Cloud and Boundary
Layer Processes, Severe Storms 
Office: NSSTC 3052
Phone: 256.961.7762
Email: kevin.knupp@nsstc.uah.edu
mcnider copy Richard T. McNider
Distinguished Professor of Science
Research Interests:
Climate, Water Resources,
Air Quality, Numerical Modeling

 
Office: NSSTC 3051
Phone: (256) 961-7756
Email: richard.mcnider@nsstc.uah.edu
johnmecikalski new John R. Mecikalski, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Research Interests
Satellite Data Assimilation, Mesoscale Modeling,
Tropical Meteorology, Atmospheric Convection, Satellite Remote Sensing 
Office: NSSTC 3040
Phone: 256.961.7046
Email: johnm@nsstc.uah.edu 
nair-u Udaysankar Nair, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Research Interests
Land, Atmosphere, and Ecosystem Processes
 
Office: NSSTC 3049
Phone: 256.961.7841
Email: nair@nsstc.uah.edu
newchurch-m Michael J. Newchurch, Ph.D.
Professor
Research Interests:
 Atmospheric Chemistry, Satellite Remote Sensing and
Air Quality Modeling 
Office: NSSTC 3042
Phone: 256.961.7825
Email: mike@nsstc.uah.edu
perkey-d Donald J. Perkey, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Research Interests
Mesoscale Modeling, Global Change
 
Office: CH 3048
Phone: 256.961.7734
Email: don.perkey@nsstc.uah.edu
sever-t Tom Sever, Ph.D.
Professor
Research Interests
Remote Sensing, GIS Technology 
Office: NSSTC 3050
Phone: 256.961.7958
Email: sever@nsstc.uah.edu
wade Ryan Wade

Lecturer
Research Interests:
Radar meteorology and high-impact weather

Office NSSTC 3088
Phone: 961-7847
Email: rwade@nsstc.uah.edu
     

Affiliate Faculty:

Dr. Arastoo Biazar

Dr. Monte Bateman

Dr. Dan Cecil

Dr. Hugh Christian

Dr. Eugene Crawford

Dr. Richard Ferrare

Mr. Burgess Howell

Mr. Daniel Irwin

Dr. Gary Jedlovec

Dr. Timothy Lang

Dr. Xiong Liu

Dr. Eugene McCaul

Dr. Walt Petersen

Dr. Jonathan Pleim

Dr. Rahul Ramachandran

Dr. Roy Spencer