raiven jon madison
Science Ambassadors are appointed representatives of the College of Science (CoS) who participate in and benefit from
  • service
  • commitment
  • professional development
 sa banner 3

Community-building within the college & university for students and faculty
Promoting the opportunities & successes within the college and inviting involvement & participation at events (e.g., CoS Picnic)
Recruitment of prospective students at Open House, Orientation, Admitted Students events
Recruitment and leadership of current students to participate as volunteers at special CoS events


Modeling excellence through quality academic performance, admirable conduct, and consistent participation in ambassador activities
Taking pride and being invested in the College of Science culture

Professional Development

Involvement in extracurricular activities
Networking and collaborative efforts between departments (and colleges)
Developing mentor/mentee relationships
Participating in regular professional development sessions organized by the dean

Ambassadors' input and ideas shape many of the activities throughout the year, with an emphasis on growing a vibrant and collaborative culture within the college.

Interested Applicants (Applications received after July 27, 2016 will be considered for spring term 2017.)

Eligible candidates are full-time undergraduate or graduate Science students with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 who are able to commit to at least a one-year term. Consistent attendance is expected at monthly meetings and some special events like Open Houses, Admitted Students Day, and Science Olympiad.

Interested applicants should provide a current resume along with a statement of interest (up to ~250 words) and the names of two UAH academic references. Please submit by email to cosdean@uah.edu

sa banner 2

Current Science Ambassadors

Jonathan Trinh
Jonathan Shields
Jennifer Lamar
Desalyn Johnson
Madison Pegouske
John Coan
Angela Burke
Emily Olsen
Juan Alonso Guzmán
Caitlin Jarvis
Raiven Smith
Kenia Colin
Yazmine Justiniano
Christopher Sebastian
Emily Seiden