2014 New Faculty Research (NFR) Program Awardees

Principal Investigator



Dr. Pavica Sheldon

Alerting students about a crisis: Technology preferences and secondary crisis communication

Communication Arts

Dr. Chang-kwon Kang

Optimal Flight Strategies of Bio-inspired Flexible Flapping Wings

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Dr. Wolfram Verlaan,

Evaluating the Effectiveness of Two Programs in Preventing Summer Learning Loss in Elementary School Students


Dr. Nicole Pacino

Prescription for a Nation: Public Health and Nation Building in Post-Revolutionary Bolivia, 1952-1964


Dr. Yu Lei 

Nanostructured Materials by ALD for Direct Methane Conversion

Chemical & Materials Engineering

Dr. Ryan Weber

The Social Webb: Measuring Audience Responses to Print and Social Media Texts about NASA’s James Webb Space Telescope


Dr. Kunning Xu

Characterization of Microwave Microplasma for Space Propulsion and Flow Control Research

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Dr. Sun-il Kim

A Two-Stage Protection Scheme for Cyber Attacks Targeting In-Vehicle Networks

Computer Science

Dr. Evan Ragland

Renaissance Medicine and the Origins of Scientific Experimentation


Dr. Yeolan Lee

Do entrepreneurial start-ups outlast diversifying entrants?


Dr. Katie Baldwin

The Tale & The Speech: Creative research; image and text development; printing and binding the artist book

Art, Art History and Design

Dr. Melody Ng

Music in the Healthcare Environment


Dr. Leila Setayeshgar

Large Deviations and Importance Sampling for Many-Server Queues