UAHuntsville Women’s Studies Program sponsors nationally recognized author Lesléa Newman

Leslea Newman

HUNTSVILLE, Ala (November 16, 2012) — Nationally recognized feminist writer, poet and human rights activist Lesléa (pronounced "Lez-LEE-uh") Newman will give an anti-bullying presentation for high school, college and adult audiences next month on the campus of The University of Alabama in Huntsville (UAHuntsville).

Her talk entitled "He Continues to Make a Difference: The Story of Matthew Shepard," will be presented on Wednesday, November 28, at 7:30 p.m., in the university's Chan Auditorium. The event is free and open to the public. Matthew Shepard, a 21-year-old gay student from the University of Wyoming was brutally murdered in 1998. Newman will use her address to promote tolerance, understanding, and an acceptance of diversity among all people. Immediately following the presentation there will be a book signing and reception.


Kenneth Sullivan elected NDIA vice chair

Ken Sullivan

Kenneth W. Sullivan, associate director of the Office for Enterprise Innovation and Sustainability at The University of Alabama in Huntsville, has been elected as a vice chair of the National Defense Industrial Association’s (NDIA) Manufacturing Division. Dr. Sullivan most recently served as the chairman of Manufacturing Division’s Supply Chain Network Committee. He oversaw a survey of small- to mid-sized businesses regarding their participation in the aerospace and defense industrial base conducted by the committee. He also was a co-author of the white paper published by NDIA based on the findings of the survey. The white paper was also instrumental in defining the Connecting American Manufacturing (CAM) project sponsored by Office of Secretary of Defense (OSD) ManTech program.


UAHuntsville student wins national award for optical design and engineering research

Josh Walters sitting at a computer

A student from UAHuntsville has won a national award for optical design and engineering research. 

Josh Walters was among the winners of the 2012 Robert S. Hilbert Memorial Optical Design Competition, an annual competition held in Mountain View, Calif.

The competition is open to students in North America working toward a bachelor's, master's, or Ph.D. degree who utilize Code V or Lighttools software who have submitted papers that demonstrate optical design excellence.


Kathy Hawk to lead UAH’s global understanding initiative

Kathy Hawk

UAHuntsville has appointed Dr. Kathy Hawk as the director of the university's Global Understanding Initiative.


UAHuntsville History professor publishes book American Slaves and African Masters

Christine Sears

Christine Sears, a professor of History at The University of Alabama in Huntsville (UAHuntsville) recently published her first book American Slaves and African Masters Algiers and the Western Sahara, 1776-1820.


UAHuntsville English student publishes sci-fi book Blood Requiem Mutation

blood requiem

UAHuntsville student Lawrence Henry said he was driven to write his newly published book, The Blood Requiem Mutation, in part by a statement his older brother, James Henry made many years ago: “The only thing worse than a pointless death is a pointless life.”


UAHuntsville’s Mark Cowherd passes CEFP certification


Mark Cowherd, executive director of facilities and operations at UAHuntsville, recently passed the examination for the Certified Educational Facilities Professional (CEFP) credential. 


UAH’s Mary Fleming cited for procurement work


Mary Fleming, a procurement specialist for the Small Business Development Center at UAHuntsville, has been selected as Alabama’s State Star for `12


Fulbright Fellow spending fall semester teaching at UAHuntsville College of Business Administration

Ranjan ChaudhuriTN

In August, Dr. Ranjan Chaudhuri joined the College of Business Administration at UAHuntsville as a Fulbright Fellow.


UAHuntsville alumnus wins prestigious GE Edison Award


UAHuntsville College of Engineering alumnus Chris E. Orr (’84 BSE) has been awarded a General Electric Edison Award for his contributions to the General Electric (GE) Company. The Edison award is named after Thomas Edison, one of GE’s founders and the most prolific inventor in history.