UAH

Advisement

Upon admission to the teacher education program, each candidate is assigned to an advisor who will provide support and guidance.  Candidates admitted to secondary education programs are also assigned a teaching field advisor who will assist in planning the teaching field program.

Education Advisors

Advisor

Area of Expertise

Office Phone

Email Address

Dr. Monica Dillihunt

Elementary Education

Collaborative Teacher

256-2-824-2328

dillihm@uah.edu

Dr. Sandra Enger

*Secondary Science (Biology, Chemistry, Physics

256-824-2329

25-824-6671

engers@uah.edu

Dr. Philip Kovacs

*Secondary English Language Arts

256-824-2331

philip.kovacs@uah.edu

Dr. Jason O’Brien

*Secondary History/

Social Studies

256-824-6181

jason.obrien@uah.edu

Dr. Mary Piersma

Elementary Education

Music Education

Graduate Candidates

256-824-2325

piersmam@uah.edu

Dr. Erica Slate-Young

*Secondary

Mathematics

256-824-2330

erica.slate@uah.edu

Dr. Derrick Smith

Collaborative Teacher/ Special Education

256-824—3048

derrick.smith@uah.edu

*Secondary Education candidates are assigned to advisors in education and in their teaching field.  They should know and work with both advisors regarding academic and professional matters.

Undergraduate Teaching Field Advisors  for Secondary Education Candidates

Advisor

Teaching Field

Office Phone

Email Address

College of Liberal Arts

Dr. Clarke Rountree

Communications (Language Arts)

256-824-2306

rountrj@uah.edu

Dr. Holly Flint

English Language Arts

256-824-2372

holly.flint@uah.edu

Dr. Rolf Goebel

Foreign Languages

256-824-2344

goebelr@uah.edu

Dr. Andrew Dunar

History/Social Studies

256-824-6312

dunara@uah.edu

Dr. Donald Bowyer

Music

256-824-2382

bowyerd@uah.edu

Dr. Kathy Hawk

Political Science (Social Studies)

256-824-2315

hawk@uah.edu

Dr. Jeff Neuschatz

Psychology (Social Studies)

256-824-2321

neuschaj@uah.edu

Dr. Mitch Berbrier

Sociology (Social Studies)

256-824-2301

berbrierm@uah.edu

College of Science

Dr. Debra Moriarity

Biology/General Science

256-824-6045

moriard@uah.edu

Dr. William Setzer

Chemistry

256-824-2316

wsetzer@matsci@uah.edu

Ms. Elizabeth Bowman

Mathematics

256-824-2230

bowman@math.uah.edu

Dr. Gary Zank

Physics

256-824-2833

GaryP.Zank@gmail.uah.edu


Graduate Teaching Field Advisors for Alternative and Advanced Programs

All graduate candidates will have an education and a teaching field advisor.  Candidates should work with both advisors regarding coursework, programs of study, admission and exit requirements

Advisor

Teaching Field

Office Phone

Email

College of Liberal Arts

Dr. Julie Early

English Language Arts

Reading Specialist

256-824-2375

earlyj@uah.edu

Dr. Andrew Dunar

History

256-824-6312

dunara@uah.edu

College of Science

Dr. Debra Moriarity

Biology

256-824-6045

moriard@uah.edu

Dr. William Setzer

Chemistry

256-824-2316

wsetzer@uah.edu

Dr. Kenneth Howell

Mathematics

256-824-6410

howell@math.uah.edu

Dr. Gary Zank

Physics

256-824-2833

GaryP.Zank@gmail.com