Honors Lecture Schedule - Fall Semester 2012

Thursday 11:10 - 12:20
Shelby Center Rm 107 unless otherwise shown.
Presenters are from the Univ. of Alabama in Huntsville unless otherwise shown.

Date
Topic
Location
Thu Aug 23
Dr. Harry Delugach, University Honors Program Director, Introduction to Lecture Series
SC 107
Thu. Aug. 30
Dr. Robert Altenkirch, UAHuntsville President
SC 107
Thu Sep 6
Dr. Nicholaos Jones, Philosophy Dept. What Bowties Teach Us About Biological Explanation and HIV
SC 107
Thu Sep 13
R. Jeannine Windham, Art and Art History Dept. Bringing the Past into the Future through Preservation, Excavation, and Stewardship
SC 107
Thu Sep 20
Dr. Rolf Goebel, Dept. of Foreign Languages and Literatures, Media Culture, Literature, and the Age of Technological Transparency
SC 107
Thu Sep 27
Dr. Allen Wier, Author, Univ. of Tennessee
SC 107
Thu Oct 4
NO CLASS (Fall Break)
Thu Oct 11
Dr. Jack Fix, Physics Dept. and Dean of Science, 21 December 2012 - The End of the World?
SC 107
Thu Oct 18
Dr. Eric Seeman, Psychology Dept.
SC 107
Thu Oct 25
Dr. Harry Delugach, Honors Program Director, Where Does Energy Come From?
SC 107
Thu Nov 1
Lloyd Arneach, Native American Heritage Month, Can You Hear The Smoke? co-sponsored with Office of Multicultural Affairs
UC Exhibit Hall
Thu Nov 8
John Kvach, History Dept., Understanding Dixie: Abraham Lincoln and His Southern Roots
SC 107
Thu Nov 15

Honors Research Showcase: Honors students present their Honors Theses

  • open
  • Anneliese DeVyldere, A Discussion on the Perception of the General Population Regarding Blindness in Negative Conversation
  • open
  • Salome Saliashvili, Identifying Technical Management Areas that Affect Performance to Increase Project Efficiency
SC 107
Thu Nov 22
NO CLASS (Thanksgiving)
Thu Nov 29
Lesléa Newman, author, The Gender Dance: Picture Books that Challenge Stereotypes, co-sponsored with the Women’s Studies Program, the Office of Student Affairs, the Office of Diversity, and the Humanities Center
SC 107