Honors Lecture Schedule - Fall Semester 2013

Thursday 11:10 - 12:20
Shelby Center Rm 107 unless otherwise shown.
Presenters are from the Univ. of Alabama in Huntsville unless otherwise shown.

Date
Topic
Location
Thu Aug 22
Dr. Harry Delugach, Honors College Director, Introduction to Lecture Series
SC 107
Thu. Aug. 29
Dr. Aldo de Moor, CommunitySense, Tilburg, the Netherlands, Expanding the Academic Research Community: Building Bridges into Society with the Internet
SC 107
Thu Sep 5
Dr Rolf Goebel, Foreign Language and Literatures Dept. Music, Language, and Visuality: Further Thoughts on Intermediality
SC 107
Thu Sep 12
Aaron Sexton, Art Department, The Truth Lies Beautifully
SC 107
Thu Sep 19
Ms. Ana Maria Alvarez, CONTRA-TIEMPO Urban Latin Dance Theater Company, co-sponsored with Office of Multicultural Affairs
UC Exhibit Hall
Thu Sep 26
Dr. Harry Delugach, Honors College Director, A personal story
SC 107
Thu Oct 3
NO LECTURE (Fall Break)  
Thu Oct 10
open
SC 107
Thu Oct 17
Dr. Mark Scherer, Univ. of Nebraska at Omaha, Finding Meaning in Tragedy: Lincoln and the Gettysburg Address
SC 107
Thu Oct 24
Dr. Linda Gordon, New York University, Visual Democracy: How Dorothea Lange Used Photography to Promote Equality, co-sponsored with Women's Studies
SC 107
Thu Oct 31
Dr. Jeff Neuschatz, Psychology Dept. The Nasty but Necessary Business of Jailhouse Informants
SC 107
Thu Nov 7
Presentations by Housing and Student Success Center
SC 107
Thu Nov 14

Cathy Palmer, "The Art and Science of Dog Training"

UC Exhibit Hall
Thu Nov 21

Discussions -  Student Activities and Honors Lectures Course Evaluation

 
Thu Nov 28
NO CLASS (Thanksgiving)  
 Thu Dec 5 

 Honors Research Showcase: Honors students present their Honors Theses

  • Maria Torres, Regulation of Gene Expression by Nascent Peptides
  • JoAnna Jordan, A Strategic Look at Constructed Wetlands in Urbanized Areas
  • Andrew MachemerAnalysis and Outreach Results of a Mobile Wind Tunnel STEM Tool
  • Jonathan SullivanVariation in Chemosensory Behavior in Ecologically Divergent Populations of the Cactophilic Drosophila mojavensis

Course Evaluation

SC 107