Lectures 2013 Spring

Honors Lecture Schedule - Spring Semester 2013

Thursday 11:10 - 12:20
Room SC 107 unless otherwise shown.
Presenters are from the Univ. of Alabama in Huntsville unless otherwise shown.

Date
Topic
Location
Thu Jan. 10
Dr. Harry Delugach, University Honors Program Director, Introduction to Lecture Series
SC 107
Thu Jan. 17
Dr. Harry Delugach, Computer Science Dept, Modeling the Real World
SC 107
Thu Jan. 24
Dr. Deborah Heikes, Philosophy Dept, The Birth and Death of the Scientific Revolution
SC 107
Thu Jan 31
Dr. Rolf Goebel, Foreign Languages and Literatures Dept., What is Language: Philosophy, Gender, Media, and Poetry
SC 107
Thu Feb. 7
Gregory Reed, Center For Modeling and Simulation
SC 107
Thu Feb. 14
Gerri Minisee, Political Science Dept., Children in Foster Care, A Reflection of Ourselves:  How To Change What We See
SC 107
Thu Feb. 21
Dr. Pam O'Neal, College of Nursing, Evidence-Based Nursing Practice  SC 107
Thu Feb. 28
Katharina van Santen, Centers for Disease Control, Saving LIves Behind the Scenes: What is Public Health?
SC 107
Thu. Mar 7
Dr. Brandon Kershner, Univ. of Florida (Visiting Eminent Scholar), Bizarre Popular Culture in Joyce
SC 107
Thu Mar 14
Poetry Slam-Duo, featuring Shadowboxers Anonymous, co-sponsored by Office of Multi-cultural Affairs
UC Exhibit Hall
Thu Mar 21
Dr. Aleksandar Milenković and Dr. Emil Jovanov, Electrical and Comp. Engineering Dept. mHealth - Computing Infrastructures for Mobile Health and Wellness Monitoring
SC 107
Thu Mar 28
NO CLASS (Spring Break)
 
Thu Apr. 4
NO CLASS (University Honors Day)
SC 107
Thu Apr. 11
Honors Student Research Showcase:
  • Kirsten Currier, History Dept., Effects of Nazi Propaganda on German People
  • Honoka Eguchi, Finance Dept., Improving Portfolio Returns and Asset Allocation by Using Momentum and Volatility Metrics
  • Amit Patel, Mechanical Engr. Dept. Phase Locked High Speed Image and Data Acquisition
 SC 107
Thu. Apr 18
Honors Student Research Showcase:
  • Ainsley Phillips, College of Nursing, Technology as a Nursing Intervention to Enhance Patient Learning: the Impact of Secondary Patient Contact via Email
  • Sienna Kostencki, Biological Sciences Dept., The Evolution of Detoxification Resistance in the Cactophilic Drosophila mojavensis and Drosophila arizonae
  • Ciarra Britt, Mechanical Engr. Dept., Solid Edgecation Development of Computer-aided Design Curriculum for InSPIRESS
 
 SC 107