UAH

Honors Lecture Series

Honors-Lecture-1
  • Free
  • Open to the public.
  • For a general audience.

If you're a student enrolled in the Honors Lecture Series course (HON 100), log on to ANGEL for your course materials.

If you're interested in presenting an Honors Lecture, please ask! See below for the Current Semester schedule. (See Previous Lecture Series Schedules for ideas.) To volunteer, contact the Honors Office at honors@uah.edu.

Honors Lecture Schedule - Spring Semester 2014

Thursday 11:10 - 12:20
Shelby Center Rm 107 unless otherwise shown.
Presenters are from the Univ. of Alabama in Huntsville unless otherwise shown.

Date
Topic
Location
Thu Jan 9

Dr. Harry Delugach, Honors College Director, Introduction to Lecture Series

SC 107
Thu Jan 16
Dr. Ray Vaughn, Vice President for Research, The Importance of Cyber Security. see article
SC 107
Thu Jan 23
open
SC 107
Thu Jan 30
Jeff Nelson, English Dept. Shakespeare's Theatre and the American Shakespeare Center's Tour
SC 107
Thu Feb 6
Harry S. Delugach, Honors College Director, Where Does Energy Come From? SC 107
Thu Feb 13
Thomas K. Spain, MD, Depts. of Medicine and Pediatrics, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine CANCELLED
SC 107
Thu Feb 20
open SC 107
Thu Feb 27
Dr. Daniel Rochowiak, Assoc. Dean, College of Science, Science and Religion
SC 107
Thu Mar 6
Dr. Fred Ordway, NASA, 2001: A Space Odyssey'--From the Early Days to Worldwide Acclaim
SC 107
Thu Mar 13
Ms. Reanae McNeal, Celebrating Women of Character, Courage and Commitment, co-sponsored with Office Multi-cultural Affairs in conjunction with Women's History Month
UC Exhibit Hall
Thu Mar 20
Dr. Rolf J. Goebel, Dept. of Foreign Languages and Literatures,  What Are You Listening To? Sound, Media, and Metropolitan Life
SC 107
Thu Mar 27
 NO LECTURE - Spring Break
Thu Apr 3

Communicating Science: A Technical Communication Roundtable, sponsored by the Business and Technical Writing Program

SC 107
Thu Apr 10

Honors Research Showcase: Honors students present their Honors Theses

  • Deanna Nicholas, Poverty, Domestic Violence and Intimate Partner Homicide in the U.S.
  • Adam Powell, Functional Differentiation of Bacterial Pth1 and Human Pth2: Validation of Pth1 as a Novel Antibiotic Target
  • Chad O'Brien, An Investigation on the Haack Series Nose Cones through Subsonic and Supersonic Mach Regimes
  • Tryston Gilbert, A Case Study on the Impact of Communication Practices on the Productivity of Design Teams
 SC 107
Thu Apr 17

Honors Research Showcase: Honors students present their Honors Theses

  • Vivien Nguyen, Design and Validation of Stem-Loop Probes for the GeneCapture Pathogen Detecting Device
  • Kacy Taylor, Expectations of Patients Arriving in the Emergency Department
  • Jennifer Bail, Preschoolers' Perceptions of Food as a Possible Factor Related to Childhood Obesity

 

 SC 107
 Thu Apr 24
Discussion and Course Evaluation
SC 107

Honors Lecture Schedule - Fall Semester 2014

Thursday 11:10 - 12:20
Shelby Center Rm 107 unless otherwise shown.
Presenters are from the Univ. of Alabama in Huntsville unless otherwise shown.

Date
Topic
Location
Thu Aug 21

Dr. Harry Delugach, Honors College Director, Introduction to Lecture Series

SC 107
Thu Aug 28
open
SC 107
Thu Sep 4
open
SC 107
Thu Sep 11
open
SC 107
Thu Sep 18
open SC 107
Thu Sep 25
open
SC 107
Thu Oct 2
NO LECTURE - FALL BREAK
Thu Oct 9
open
SC 107
Thu Oct 16
open
Thu Oct 23
open
SC 107
Thu Oct 30
open
SC 107
Thu Nov 6
open  SC 107
Thu Nov 13

Honors Research Showcase: Honors students present their Honors Theses

SC 107
Thu Nov 20

Honors Research Showcase: Honors students present their Honors Theses. 

 SC 107
Thu Nov 27

NO LECTURE - Thanksgiving

 Thu Dec 4
Discussion and Course Evaluation
SC 107