Advisors

Upon admission to the Teacher Education Program, each candidate is assigned to an advisor who will provide support and guidance. Candidates admitted to secondary education programs are also assigned a teaching field advisor who will assist in planning the teaching field program.

Education Advisors

Mentor
Dr. Monica Dillihunt

Elementary Education
256.824.2328
dillihm@uah.edu

Dr. Wolfram Verlaan

* Secondary English Language Arts
256.824.2326
wolfram.verlaan@uah.edu

Dr. Jason O'Brien

* Secondary History, Social Studies
256.824.6181
jason.obrien@uah.edu

Dr. Sarah Roller

* Secondary Mathematics
256.824.5386
sarah.roller@uah.edu

Dr. Whitney Meade

Collaborative Teacher, Special Education
256.824.5443
whitney.meade@uah.edu

Dr. Sandra Lampley

* Secondary Sciences
  256.824.4516
sandra.lampley@uah.edu

*Secondary Education candidates are assigned to advisors in education and in their teaching field. They should know and work with both advisors regarding academic and professional matters.


Undergraduate Teaching Field Advisors for Secondary Education Candidates

College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

Dr. Holly Jones

English Language Arts
256.824.6780
holly.jones@uah.edu

Dr. Rolf Goebel

Foreign Languages
256.824.2344
goebelr@uah.edu

Dr. Stephen Waring

History / Social Studies
256.824.6310
warings@uah.edu

Dr. Dave Ragsdale

Music
256.824.6436
dave.ragsdale@uah.edu

Dr. John Pottenger

Political Science (Social Studies)
256.824.2313
pottenj@uah.edu

College of Science

Dr. Debra Moriarity

Biology / General Science
256.824.6045
moriard@uah.edu

Dr. Carmen Scholz

Chemistry
256-824-6153
carmen.scholz@uah.edu

Ms. Elizabeth Bowman

Mathematics
256.824.2230
bowmane@uah.edu


Graduate Advisors

All graduate candidates will have an education and a teaching field advisor. Candidates should work with both advisors regarding coursework, programs of study, admission and exit requirements.

College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

Dr. Laurel Bollinger

English Language Arts
Reading Specialist
256.824.2380
laurel.bollinger@uah.edu

Dr. Stephen Waring

History
256.824.6312
warings@uah.edu

College of Science

Dr. Debra Moriarity

Biology
256.824.6045
moriard@uah.edu

Dr. Carmen Scholz

Chemistry
256-824-6153
carmen.scholz@uah.edu

Dr. Jia Li

Mathematics
256.824.6410
256.824.6470

Dr. James Miller

Physics
256-824-2482
james.miller@uah.edu