Advisors

Upon admission to the Teacher Education Program, each candidate is assigned to an advisor who will provide support and guidance. Candidates admitted to secondary education programs are also assigned a teaching field advisor who will assist in planning the teaching field program.

Education Advisors

Mentor
Dr. Monica Dillihunt

Elementary Education, Collaborative Teacher
256.824.2328
dillihm@uah.edu

Dr. Philip Kovacs

* Secondary English Language Arts
256.824.2331
philip.kovacs@uah.edu

Dr. Jason O'Brien

* Secondary History, Social Studies
256.824.6181
jason.obrien@uah.edu

Dr. Erica Slate-Young

* Secondary Mathematics
256.824.2330
erica.slate@uah.edu

Dr. Derrick Smith

Collaborative Teacher, Special Education
256.824—3048
derrick.smith@uah.edu

*Secondary Education candidates are assigned to advisors in education and in their teaching field. They should know and work with both advisors regarding academic and professional matters.


Undergraduate Teaching Field Advisors for Secondary Education Candidates

College of Liberal Arts

Dr. Holly Jones

English Language Arts
256.824.2372
holly.jones@uah.edu

Dr. Rolf Goebel

Foreign Languages
256.824.2344
goebelr@uah.edu

Dr. Stephen Waring

History / Social Studies
256.824.6310
warings@uah.edu

Dr. Dave Ragsdale

Music
256.824.6436
dave.ragsdale@uah.edu

Dr. John Pottenger

Political Science (Social Studies)
256.824.2313
pottenj@uah.edu

College of Science

Dr. Debra Moriarity

Biology / General Science
256.824.6045
moriard@uah.edu

Dr. William Setzer

Chemistry
256.824.6519
william.setzer@uah.edu

Ms. Elizabeth Bowman

Mathematics
256.824.2230
bowmane@uah.edu


Graduate Advisors

All graduate candidates will have an education and a teaching field advisor. Candidates should work with both advisors regarding coursework, programs of study, admission and exit requirements.

College of Liberal Arts

Dr. Laurel Bolinger

English Language Arts
Reading Specialist
256.824.2375
earlyj@uah.edu

Dr. Stephen Waring

History
256.824.6312
warings@uah.edu

College of Science

Dr. Debra Moriarity

Biology
256.824.6045
moriard@uah.edu

Dr. William Setzer

Chemistry
256.824.2316
wsetzer@uah.edu

Dr. Jia Li

Mathematics
256.824.6410
256.824.6470

Dr. Richard Lieu

Physics
256.824.2859
richard.lieu@uah.edu