Classical Studies

Classical studies is a program designed to impart an academic familiarity with the languages, history, and culture of ancient Mediterranean society. Its program of study includes various courses taught by several departments within the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, arranged so as to fulfill a student's requirements for an academic minor.

cl Parthenon2009

Classical studies differs from other departments' study of the art, history, philosophy, literature, or politics of the classical period by its requirement that the student command a reasonable facility in an ancient language. The point at which a student begins the university-level study of that language will determine the total number of hours required for the minor. If a student begins the language with a course numbered 200 or above, the minor requires the completion of at least 21 credit hours from the following courses. If the student begins with a language course numbered in the 100s, the requirement is 27 hours. For all students, at least 9 of the credit hours must be earned in courses numbered 300 or above, 12 from courses in the same classical language regardless of language placement level, and 9 from courses in subjects other than that language.

cl students brunch

cl students

Convivium2007 dinner

Classics Week and Convivium Speakers

1993                     Richard Talbert                                 North Carolina

1994                     Elaine Fantham                                 Princeton

1995                     Peter Green                                      Texas

1996                     Denis Feeney                                   Oxford

1997                     Barry Powell                                     Wisconsin

1998                     Peter Brown                                      Princeton

1999                     Ian Wood                                          Leeds

2000                     Jeffry Tatum                                      Florida State

2001                     Douglas Parker                                  Texas

2002                     David Lindberg                                   Wisconsin

2003                     Ernst Badian                                      Harvard

2004                     Karl Galinsky                                      Texas

2005                     Julia Gaisser                                       Bryn Mawr

2006                     Arthur Eckstein                                   Maryland

2007                     Erich Gruen                                        Berkeley

2008                     Nathan Rosenstein                               Ohio State

2009                     Robert Kastner                                    Princeton

2010                     Bryan Ward-Perkins                            Oxford

2011                     Craig Kallendorf                                   Texas A&M

2012                     Norman Sandridge                               Howard